McGill’s Emler and Nabata among major award winners for OUA field hockey

Goalkeeper Marianne Emler (left) and midfielder Kylie Nabata (right)

Goalkeeper Marianne Emler (left) and midfielder Kylie Nabata (right)

HAMILTON, Ont. – Two athletes from McGill University — Marianne Emler from Geneva, Switzerland and Kylie Nabata of North Vancouver, B.C. — were among the 2014 OUA field hockey all-stars and major award winners announced Thursday by the Ontario University Athletics conference.

Emler, a 5-foot-5 junior, became the first McGill player to merit OUA goalkeeper-of-the-year honours, while Nabata, a 5-foot-8 midfielder, becomes just the second member of the Martlets to win the the Gail Wilson Award for exceptional human qualities, consistently demonstrating respect, kindness, and concern for others, along with dedication, commitment and loyalty to the team, both on and off the playing field.

Both were also named to the OUA first all-star team in voting conducted by the league’s seven coaches.

Despite being one of the busiest goalies in the league in terms of shots faced, Emler posted a respectable 2.83 goals against average. The 20-year-old political science junior started all 12 games for the fifth-place Martlets, who registered a 1-8-3 record for six points in the standings, which doubled the team’s point total from the previous season.

Nabata, a 20-year-old biochemistry junior who scored two of the team’s nine goals, merited all-conference honours for the second consecutive season.  In the community, she has volunteered as a junior field hockey coach for the past seven years.  A volunteer with the BC Cancer Society, she has served as a peer tutor for students at McGill, as well as previously at Handsworth high school in Vancouver.  Nabata currently serves on the executive of the McGill chapter of “Right to Play” as a member of the varsity executive. She joins Rachel Berta,who won in 20111, as the only previous McGill recipients of the Wilson Award.

The OUA field hockey championships will take place this weekend at Cassie Campbell Field in Brampton, Ont. beginning with the first quarter-final matchup on Friday at 12 noon between the Waterloo Warriors and York Lions.

GK:  Marianne Emler – McGill
DEF: Alison Lee – Toronto
DEF: Fiona Downey – Queen’s
DEF: Shanella Fernando – York
MID: Erin Houle – Guelph
MID: Katelynn Roganowicz – Western
MID: Kylie Nabata – McGill
MID: Amanda Woodcroft – Toronto
MID: Stephanie Snyder – Waterloo
FOR: Alex Thicke – Toronto
FOR: Ally Chute – Guelph


Player of the Year
Amanda Woodcroft – Toronto –  Midfielder

Rookie of the Year
Olivia Lane – Guelph – Forward

Goalie of the Year
Marianne Emler – McGill Goalkkeeper

Gail Wilson Award (for leadership)
Kylie Nabata – McGill – Midfielder

Coach of the Year
John DeSouza – Toronto

Umpire of the Year
Denise Pelletier

Earl Zukerman
McGill Sports Info Office