40th CIS – FHC women’s field hockey championship: Seeding and schedule announced


OTTAWA (CIS) – The seeding and schedule were announced on Monday for the 40th Canadian Interuniversity Sport – Field Hockey Canada women’s championship, which gets under way later this week in Toronto.

The four-team tournament, hosted by the University of Toronto for the second time in three years, kicks off on Thursday and concludes Sunday with the gold-medal final at 3 p.m. All eight games from the tourney will be webcast live on CIS-SIC.tv.

Competing for this season’s McCrae Cup will be the top-seeded UBC Thunderbirds (Canada West champions), No. 2 Toronto Varsity Blues (OUA champs), No. 3 Victoria Vikes (Canada West runners-up) and No. 4 Guelph Gryphons (OUA silver medallists).

The T-Birds continued to rewrite the CIS field hockey record book a year ago when they became the first program in history to capture three straight McCrae Cups, thanks to a 4-1 gold-medal win over tournament host Victoria. It marked a 15th national title for UBC since the inaugural CIS championship in 1975, four more than UVic and Toronto.

This season, UBC and Victoria finished with identical 5-1-2 marks in the Canada West conference, where there are no playoffs and the team with the best record at the end of league play is awarded the banner. The T-Birds got the nod thanks to a better goal differential.

In the OUA, Toronto is 14-0 overall entering the FHC-CIS competition, including a 3-0 shutout against Guelph in the conference final. The Gryphons, who are still looking for their first CIS crown, are 11-3 overall, with all three losses coming at the hands of the Varsity Blues.

All contenders will play each other once in the preliminary round this week, with the top two finishers advancing to the final and the bottom two teams battling for bronze. Thursday’s opening day will see Victoria take on Guelph at 4:30 p.m. and UBC face Toronto at 6:30 p.m.

NOTES: A complete championship preview will follow on Tuesday… The 2014 CIS individual award winners and all-Canadian teams will be announced on Wednesday.


1. UBC Thunderbirds (Canada West champions: 5-1-2 regular season / no playoffs in CW)
2. Toronto Varsity Blues (OUA champions: 12-0 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
3. Victoria Vikes (Canada West runners-up: 5-1-2 regular season / no playoffs in CW)
4. Guelph Gryphons (OUA silver medallists: 10-2 regular season / 1-1 playoffs)


Wednesday, Oct. 29
18:00 All-Canadian Awards Banquet (Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel)

Thursday, Oct. 30
16:30 Game 1: Victoria vs. Guelph (www.CIS-SIC.tv)
18:30 Game 2: UBC vs. Toronto (www.CIS-SIC.tv)

Friday, Oct. 31
16:30 Game 3: Toronto vs. Guelph (www.CIS-SIC.tv)
18:30 Game 4: UBC vs. Victoria (www.CIS-SIC.tv)

Saturday, Nov. 1
13:00 Game 5: Toronto vs Victoria (www.CIS-SIC.tv)
15:00 Game 6: UBC vs. Guelph (www.CIS-SIC.tv)

Sunday, Nov. 2
13:00 Bronze medal (www.CIS-SIC.tv)
15:00 Championship final (www.CIS-SIC.tv)

About Canadian Interuniversity Sport

Canadian Interuniversity Sport is the national governing body of university sport in Canada. Every year, over 11,500 student-athletes and 700 coaches from 56 universities and four regional associations vie for 21 national championships in 12 different sports. CIS also provides high performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, as well as numerous world university championships. For further information, visit www.cis-sic.ca or follow us on:

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CIS_SIC
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cissports
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/universitysport
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/CIS_SIC


Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to scottharriganisn@gmail.com