Four Olympians inducted to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame


On Wednesday, October 22, eight Canadians – four of them Olympians – were inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. 

The Olympians inducted were Horst Bulau, Pierre Harvey, Geraldine Heaney and Elizabeth Manley. Also joining the Hall are pioneer freeskier Sarah Burke, rugby legend Gareth Rees, and former basketball coaches Tim Frick (national women’s wheelchair team) and Kathy Shields (senior women’s national team).

Here is a look at the Olympians – Bulau, Harvey, Heaney and Manley:

Horst Bulau represented Canada in four consecutive Winter Olympic Games from 1980 to 1992.
Horst Bulau is the most decorated Canadian ski jumper in history with 13 World Cup wins.
Pierre Harvey competed for Canada at two Olympics in 1984, in cross country at the Winter Games in Sarajevo and that summer in cycling at Los Angeles.
Pierre Harvey is an iconic cross country skier, the first Canadian to win an international event.
Geraldine Heaney receives her Hall jacket from Colin MacDonald, chair of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame board of governors.
Geraldine Heaney won Olympic gold at Salt Lake City 2002 and silver at Nagano 1998.
Elizabeth Manley congratulated by Colin MacDonald, chair of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame board of governors.
Elizabeth Manley won the silver medal in women’s figure skating at Calgary 1988.
Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to