Hutton pitches Brock to OUA title



By Shawn Whiteley
HAMILTON, Ont. – Brock University (30-3 overall, 17-1 OUA) defeated the Waterloo Warriors by the score of 8-0 to capture their fourth Ontario University Athletics (OUA) title in the program’s history and sixth championship over the past 20 years.

“I am so proud of this group of players,” said head coach Jeff Lounsbury.

“We had a team goal from the start of training camp to win a championship and we accomplished that. To finish with 30 wins in a single season is also something special that these players will remember.”

They captured back-to-back CIBA National Championships in 1998 and 1999 and four OUA titles in 2002, 2004, 2010 and 2014.

After posting a league best 17-1 OUA regular season record, the Badgers continued to roll in the OUA Championship posting a perfect 3-0 record.

In the championship versus Waterloo, the Badgers led 1-0 after one and scored seven runs in the bottom of the 3rd on route to the 8-0 victory.

The Badgers offense collected 13 hits in total with Phil Steer (2-for-3, 2 RBIs), Koddi Quick (2-for-3, 2 RBIs), Justin Gideon (2-for-3, RBI), Dan Nicoletta (2-for-5, RBI) and Ryan Laird (2-for-5) all adding two hits each. Ricky Ferri, Chris Anderi and Ben Kirby all chipped in with singles. Blair Gignac recorded two RBIs in the win.

Brock starter Johnny Hutton picked up the victory going six complete innings allowing no runs on three hits with one strikeout. He was named OUA championship MVP. In relief, Ryan Beckett, Jeffrey Baggaley and Phil Owen all threwshutout innings.

For the Badgers, it was their 495th win as a program and fifth time in their 20-year history that they h ave won 30+ games in a season, the first since back-to-back National Championship seasons in 1998 and 1999.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to