Men¹s eight, lightweight double take top seed entering national finals


The Vikes men’s lightweight coxed four finished fifth in time trials to qualify for Sunday’s A Final

By Ali Lee, 

(ISN) – VICTORIA, B.C. – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s rowing team impressed on opening day, Nov. 1, of the 18th Canadian University Rowing Championship hosted at Elk Lake in Victoria, B.C. The Vikes men qualified for the A final in all six events they competed in and were highlighted by first-place time trial finishes in the lightweight double and the eights.

In the opening men’s event Vikes Lee Hall and Alex Walker finished first in the time trial for the lightweight double in 5:48.06. The veteran duo will be joined in the A final by UBC’s Angus Todd and Aaron Lattimer, who finished second in the trials in 5:54.91. Queen’s, Carleton, Trent and Western will round out the six-team Sunday final.

In the men’s pair, Maxim Ellison and Christopher Marshall raced to a third-place finish in 5:59.87 to qualify for the A final. Top competitors for Sunday’s final will include Brock’s Matthew Finley and Dave de Groot, as well as Western’s Marc Addison and Alex Munro.

The Vikes’ lightweight coxed four of Hall, Andrew Hendrickson, Sam Garber, Andy Muth and Jacob Koudys finished fifth in time trials (5:48.54) to qualify for finals.

Vike Mark Davies raced in the men’s single grabbing the last qualifying spot in the finals. Davies finished sixth in 6:28.68. Also qualifying for Sunday’s final was Garber on the men’s lightweight after he finished sixth in a qualifying time of 6:52.

Last but not least the Vikes men’s eight raced the finale event of the day and the Vikes did not disappoint. A first-place time trial finish for Adam Donaldson, Christopher Marshall, Walker, Elyas Forstbauer, Mark Davies, Connor McGuigan,Maxim Ellison, Sam Horn and cox Jacob Koudys was a good indication of the team to beat for tomorrow’s A final. The Vikes eight crossed in 5:19.67 ahead of UBC (5:19.77) and Western (5:19.8)

All six competing Vikes crews will turn around for tomorrow’s head-to-head finals, which will begin at 9:00 a.m. at Elk Lake. For more information and full results visit

Lwt M2x
1st – Lee Hall, Alex Walker (5:48.06) Qualified for A Final

3rd – Maxim Ellison, Christopher Marshall (5:59.87) Qualified for A Final

Lwt M4+
5th – Lee Hall, Andrew Hendrickson, Sam Garber, Andy Muth, Jacob Koudys (5:48.54) Qualified for A Final

6th – Mark Davies (6:28.68) Qualified for A Final

Lwt M1x
6th – Sam Garber (6:52) Qualified for A Final

1st – Adam Donaldson, Christopher Marshall, Alex Walker, Elyas Forstbauer, Mark Davies, Connor McGuigan, Maxim Ellison, Sam Horn, Jacob Koudys (5:19.67) Qualified for A Final