McGill rugby trio named to RSEQ conference all-star team

(Left to Right): Caroline Succhorski, Emily Barber and Audrey Marcotte

(Left to Right): Caroline Succhorski, Emily Barber and Audrey Marcotte

MONTREAL — Three members of the McGill University women’s rugby team have merited conference all-star honours in the Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec.

Caroline Suchorski of Kirkland, Que., was voted in along with teammates Emily Barber of Fenelon Falls, Ont., and Audrey Marcotte of Chateauguay, Que.

Suchorski, a science senior majoring in dietetics, won the conference scoring title with 91 points in seven games. The 5-foot-8 centre scored six tries, to go along with 23 conversions and a league-leading five penalty kicks.

Barber, a 5-foot-7 hooker, finished second on the team and seventh among RSEQ scoring leaders with 40 points. A management senior majoring in information systems, she tallied eight tries which ranked as the third-highest total in the eight-team league.

Marcotte, a third-year student studying medicine, had no points in six contests. The 5-foot-2 flanker was named once as McGill’s player of the game.

Concordia’s Alexandra Tessier earned player-of-the-year honours, while Laval’s Anne-Charlotte Beaulieu was rookie of the year and Ottawa’s Afton Maisonneuve received the league award for excellence in leadership, community service and academics. Jennifer Boyd of the Gee-Gees was chosen coach of the year.

Second-place Laval led all schools with four players picked to the 15-member squad, while fourth-place McGill and fifth-place Montreal had three apiece. Ottawa and Concordia, which finished first and third, respectively, each had two players named, while sixth-place Carleton had one honouree.

Roxanne Angers, Laval
Frédérique Ferland, Laval
Dominique Bernard, Laval
Camille Provençal-Aubé, Laval
Caroline Suchorski, McGill
Emily Barber, McGill
Audrey Marcotte, McGill
Molly Dussault, Montréal
Camille Savoie, Montréal
Sabrina Neveu, Montréal
Hughanna Gaw, Concordia
Alexandra Tessier, Concordia
Allison MacCormarck, Ottawa
Erin van Gulik, Ottawa
Natasha Smith, Carleton

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Alexandra Tessier, Concordia
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Anne-Charlotte Beaulieu, Laval
COACH OF THE YEAR: Jennifer Boyd, Ottawa