Several Vikes turn around to compete in National Rowing Championships


By Ali Lee, 

(ISN) – VICTORIA, B.C. – Several of the University of Victoria Vikes rowing team members will have little rest following their participation in last weekend’s Canadian University Rowing Championship (CURC) at Elk Lake. The Vikes will return to the Victoria waters for this weekend’s 2014 RBC National Rowing Championship (NRC’s) also hosted at Elk Lake from Nov. 7-9 by Victoria City Rowing Club. Rowers will compete for their respective provinces, the majority for B.C.

Vikes women Becca Zimmerman and Madeline Spangehl will race in the senior pair event. Last weekend this duo raced to a silver medal in the same event at the University national championship in a time of 7:36.59. Maxine Chapman and Jillian Legare will race in the under-23 pair after helping the Vikes women claim bronze in the women’s eight last weekend. Deborah Snell, for B.C., and Cate White, for Alberta, will both participate in the under 23 lightweight single, while Beth McConnell will race the Under 23 single.

On the men’s side the Vikes will have strong representation in the under 23 single and under 23 pair. Sean Decter andConnor McGuigan will race in the U23 single. McGuigan was a member of the Vikes men’s eight that captured gold at last weekend’s CURC event. Three crews will compete in the U23 pair including Sam Horn and Mark Davies; Adam Donaldson and Elyas Forstbauer; and Maxim Ellison and Christopher Marshall.

In addition Alex Walker, Lee Hall and Sam Garber will each participate in the senior lightweight single. Walker and Hall competed in the lightweight men’s double last weekend, winning gold for the third-straight year in 6:44.82. Garber was a member of the men’s coxed four that claimed CURC bronze in 6:36.11.

The NRC’s helps provide year-end ranking of the rowers and also helps determine funding for certain athletes that are part of the Rowing Canada program. A number of Olympians will be competing including London Games silver medalists Will Crothers, Colin McCabe and Rob Gibson. Competing on the women’s side, and also London Olympic silver medalists, are Natalie Mastracci, Lauren Wilkinson and Ashley Brzozowicz.

Vikes alumnae Lindsay Jennerich and Theresa Berkholtz will also be competing in the lightweight single, while former Vikes Antje von Seydlitz-Kurtsbach and Alyssa Wenninger will compete in the senior single.

At the national championship there will be three divisions – junior (under 19), under 23, senior (lightweight and heavyweight) – all happening for both men and women. The events are single and pair and awards are based on boat class and age classification only at the end of racing. No large crews will compete at this regatta.

The championship will also be streamed online live courtesy of ViaSport. Streaming will be available for the semifinals and finals. Racing gets underway Friday morning and continues with the semifinals on Saturday, November 8th (12:45-4:00 PST). Racing culminates with the Sunday finals on November 9th (12:00 – 2:45pm PST).


Senior Pair (2-)
Becca Zimmerman & Madeline Spangehl – Team BC

U23 Pair (2-)
Maxine Chapman & Jillian Legare – Team BC

U23 Lwt Single (1x)
Deborah Snell – Team BC
Cate White – Team Alberta

U23 Single (1x)
Beth McConnell


U23 Single (1x)
Sean Decter
Connor McGuigan

U23 Pair (2-)
Sam Horn & Mark Davies
Adam Donaldson & Elyas Forstbauer
Maxim Ellison & Christopher Marshall

Senior Lwt Single (1x)
Alex Walker
Lee Hall
Sam Garber

U19 Pair (2-)
Matthew Szyman & William MacTavish
Andy Muth & TBD