United States and Russia go for Gold Tonight

61
usahk

(ISN) – SARNIA, Ont. – The stage is set for the gold medal game at the 2014 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge. The United States and Russia earned semifinal victories on Friday, and will meet Saturday night at the RBC Centre.

The gold medal game begins at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT and can be seen live on TSN2. It will also be shown on tape delay on RDS2 on Monday, Nov. 10 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

The United States beat Sweden 4-1 in the early semifinal, while Russia topped Finland 6-1 in the late game.

It’s the fifth time in six years the U.S. will play in the gold medal game, while the Russians will make their third appearance in four years. The teams met in the 2012 final in Windsor, Ont., with Russia earning a 7-5 win to capture its second U17 gold medal.

In Friday’s early semifinal, Clayton Keller added to his tournament-leading point total with three assists, and Max Jones added a goal and a helper to lead the U.S. back to the gold medal game. Kailer Yamamoto, Joey Anderson and Luke Wilson also scored for the Americans, who have won 12 straight games at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, dating back to a semifinal loss to the Russians in 2013. Keller (six goals, seven assists) and Jones (six goals, four assists) sit one-two in tournament scoring.

In the second semifinal, Russia got 30 saves from Vladislav Sukhachyov, and a goal and an assist apiece from Dmitri Alexeyev, Dmitri Sokolov and Maxim Bain to avenge their 5-4 shootout loss to the Finns in the preliminary round. Vitali Abramov, Vyacheslav Shevchenko and Nikita A. Popugayev also scored for the Russians, who have already assured themselves of a medal for the fourth consecutive under-17 tournament.

Sweden and Finland will meet in the bronze medal game on Saturday afternoon at the RBC Centre. The game can be seen live on TSN2, beginning at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!