Donovan Dale and Marcus Davis named Canada West All-Stars


Vancouver, BC – The 2014 Canada West football All-Stars were announced today with two UBC Thunderbirds named to the team. The six-time defending conference champion and 78th Hardy Cup finalist Calgary Dinos led the way with 11 selections.

Defensive tackle Donovan Dale and rookie returner Marcus Davis were selected all-stars in 2014. Dale was dominate inside force along the defensive line, while Davis led the conference in all-purpose yards, returning a kickoff and a punt for a touchdown this season. 

Dinos quarterback Andrew Buckley, running back Mercer Timmis, kicker Johnny Mark, and cornerback Adam Laurensse, and Regina Rams wide receiver Addison Richards are unanimous selections in this year’s voting.

Mark earns his fourth All-Star selection after another stellar season kicking for the Dinos, while this marks the third time that Dinos centre Sean McEwen and Manitoba Bisons inside receiver Nic Demski are honoured as All-Stars.  Richards, Buckley, Timmis, Laurensse, Dinos guard Sukh Chungh, UBC Thunderbirds defensive tackle Donovan Dale and Saskatchewan Huskies safety Mark Ingram are repeat selections from last year.

The Bisons have eight players honoured after finishing the regular season with the third-best record in the conference.  Regina placed four on the All-Star squad, while Saskatchewan had three.  UBC and the Alberta Golden Bears were represented with two selections each.

The winners of the Canada West football individual awards will be announced on Thursday, November 13.

On Saturday, the Calgary Dinos host Manitoba Bisons in the 78th Hardy Cup at 2:00 pm MT at McMahon Stadium and live on Shaw TV and CanadaWest.TV.

2014 Canada West All-Stars:

(unanimous selections in italics, repeat winners in bold)



Sean McEwen, Calgary


Sukh Chungh, Calgary

Nevin Gamblin, Manitoba (tie)

Kyle Paterson, Regina (tie)


David Beard, Alberta

Braden Schram, Calgary

Inside Receiver:

Brett Blaszko, Calgary

Nic Demski, Manitoba

Wide Receiver:

Addison Richards, Regina

Matt Sawyer, Manitoba (tie)

Kit Hillis, Saskatchewan (tie)

Running Back:

Mercer Timmis, Calgary

Kienan LaFrance, Manitoba


Andrew Buckley, Calgary



Denton Kolodzinski, Saskatchewan


Johnny Mark, Calgary

Kick Returner:

Marcus Davis, UBC


Defensive End:

Connor McGough, Calgary

Evan Foster, Manitoba

Defensive Tackle:

Donovan Dale, UBC

David Onyemata, Manitoba


Connor Ralph, Alberta

Adam Knoar, Calgary

Sam Linebacker:

Joey Dwyer, Regina


Elie Bouka, Calgary

Jordan Linnen, Manitoba (tie)

Patrick MacDonald, Regina (tie)


Adam Laurensse, Calgary

Tremaine Apperley, Manitoba


Mark Ingram, Saskatchewan