31 schools, 38 individuals qualify for XC Men’s Cross Country Championships


INDIANAPOLIS –The NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Track and Field and Cross Country Committee announced Saturday the team and individual qualifiers for the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals qualified in their respective NCAA regional competitions.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship.

The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their region.

Indiana State University will host the championships, Saturday, November 22, at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center, located in Terre Haute, Indiana. The women’s race will begin at noon Eastern, followed by the men’s race at approximately 1 p.m. Eastern. A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from noon Eastern until the conclusion of the awards ceremony, Saturday, November 22, on NCAA.com.

The following teams and individuals were selected to the championships:

Men’s Automatic Qualyfing teams:

Florida State
Michigan State
Northern Arizona
Oklahoma State
Ole Miss

Men’s At-large teams

Colorado State
Eastern Kentucky
New Mexico
North Carolina
Southern Utah

Men’s Individual Qualifiers

Great Lakes Region

John Mascari, Indiana State
Matt McClintock, Purdue
Eric Peterson, Butler
Michael Clevenger, Notre Dame
Joseph Stewart, Miami (Ohio)

Mid-Atlantic Region

Matt Fischer, Penn State
Thomas Awad, Pennsylvania
Ryan Mahalsky, Lehigh
Stephen Schroeder, Navy

Midwest Region

Sam Penzenstadler, Loyola Chicago
Aaron Bartnik, Minnesota
Dan Curts, Iowa State
Brogan Austin, Drake
Jacob Morgan, Kansas

Mountain Region

Amos Bowen, Wyoming
JakeTurner, Montana State
Riley Coates, Air Force
Eric Shellhorn, Utah State

Northeast Region

Kevin Dooney, Yale
Jack Boyle, Columbia
Daniel Everett, Columbia
Tom Purnell, Harvard

South Region

Ty McCormack, Auburn
Austin Whitelaw, Tennessee
Kane Grimster, Auburn
Christoph Graf, South Alabama

South Central Region

Sam Stabler, Lamar
Brain Barraza, Houston
Charles Mathenge, Stephen F. Austin
Troy Taylor, North Texas

Southeast Region

Luis Vargas, Elon
Edwin Kibichiy, Louisville
Ernest Kibe, Louisville
George Parsons, North Carolina State

West Region

Chris Walden, California
Ryan Herson, Arizona State
Andrew Rafla, Boise State
Jose Madera San, Francisco

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!