Sophia Meehan leads Johns Hopkins to third consecutive championship win


MASON, Ohio — Johns Hopkins won its third consecutive NCAA Championship on Saturday after placing four runners in the top 30 and accumulating 85 points. The Blue Jays are the first team to win three back-to-back titles since SUNY Cortland won four in a row from 1992 to 1995. Hopkins was the only team to place five runners in the top 50 as the Blue Jays’ top five all finished 37 or higher.

MIT placed second with 112 points, followed by St. Lawrence (138), Washington (Mo.) (180) and SUNY Geneseo (212) to round out the top five.

Junior Sophia Meehan led the Blue Jays with a sixth-place finish after finishing in 85th as a freshman. Meehan finished in 21:47.2 to lead a pack of four Blue Jays that finished in the top 29. Senior Ashley Murphy improved 31 spots on her 2013 run as she finished in 15th place with a time of 22:08.01. Sophomore Tess Meehan, who placed 137th in 2013, grabbed 24th place as she crossed in 22:20.5. Senior Francis Loeb rounded out the Blue Jay All-Americans finishing 29th with a time of 22:21.5.

Freshman Bridget Gottlieb crossed in 37th place running a of 22:28.2. Junior Caroline Powers placed 98th (23:12.3) and classmate Hannah Oneda, who returned last week after missing the majority of the season with an injury, placed 157th in 23:37.8.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!