Regina Rams’ Rick Seaman receives 2014 Football Canada Gino Fracas Award


Nov 28, 2014

Source: Football Canada / Photo credit James Hajjar

Montréal, QC – Rick Seaman has been honoured as the 2014 Football Canada Gino Fracas Award recipient presented to the CIS Assistant Coach of the Year.

Rick Seaman has been an assistant with the Regina Rams for 31 years, joining the team as a receivers coach in 1984. Under Rick’s guidance, the Rams have enjoyed a talented group of receivers including future professionals Chris Bauman, Jason Clermont, Chris Getzlaf, and Jon Ryan and All-Canadians Shane Ostapowich, Brenden Owens, and Addison Richards.

Coach Seaman was a full-time high school mathematics teacher until 1994, when he became a professor in the University of Regina’s Faculty of Education. He earned his Ph.D in Education from the University of Regina in 1995 and received the 1996 Wilfred R. Wees Doctoral Thesis Award from the Canadian College of Teachers.

A dedicated volunteer for nearly 50 years which included coaching at both the community and high school levels, Rick was one of the first to receive a level 4 coaching certification in football.

“Rick has been a totally committed coach from the first day he stepped on the field,” Rams Head Coach Frank McCrystal said. “He combines teaching methodology with classroom instruction and on-field practicum. He’s exceptionally prepared with a clear vision of what he intends to communicate.”

About the Gino Fracas Award

This award is named to honour a man who has made a lifetime of outstanding contributions to amateur football. Gino Fracas moved right into a coaching role after his days with the Edmonton Eskimos with the University of Alberta head coach position. He led them to three league championships in the next four years. In 1963 his team won the Golden Bowl, the unofficial university National Championship and he also appeared in the very first Canadian College Bowl in 1965.

He was highly respected and admired for his dedication and commitment to the great sport of Canadian football. 2011 proves to be another great accomplishment by Gino, almost two years after his passing Gino was entered into the CFL Hall of Fame on September 17th, 2011 under the builder category.

The award created by Football Canada to pay recognition to the assistant coach that provides endless hours to improve the experience for the players and to support the other coaches. This award will ensure we continue to be able to recognize Gino’s legacy within the game of football as it also continues to recognize the contribution of the assistant coach.

Past Winners

Joe Taplin 2013
Ed Carleton 2012
Brian Cluff 2011
Larry Stewart 2010
Pierre Lefebvre 2009
Terry Chisholm 2008
Nigel Wilson 2007
Wayne Harris Jr. 2006
Richard Urbanovich 2005
Ross Lemke 2004
Rob Dalley 2003
Barry Radcliffe 2002
Frank Gesztesi 2001
Kevin Artichuk 2000
John Belmont 1999
Mark Forsyth 1998
Rita Sue Bolton 1997
Peter Regimbald 1996
Gary Kirchner 1995
Bill Miklas 1994
Bob Mullen 1993
Doug Smith 1992
Clarke Samways 1991
John MacNeil 1990
Phil Hughes 1989

About Football Canada

Established in 1884, Football Canada is the national governing body of amateur football in Canada and a proud member of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). Working closely with the provincial football associations, we develop programs and resources for players, coaches, officials in the three disciplines of Tackle, Flag and Touch Football. Football Canada’s vision statement is “from playground to stadium” where players can participate in the game of football throughout a lifetime recreationally, competitively and internationally.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to