9 BCHLers selected by Team Canada West for 2014 WJAC

wjac logo 640

(ISN) – Hockey Canada announced today the rosters for the Canadian entries at the upcoming World Junior A Challenge (WJAC). There will be nine players representing five BCHL clubs at the event.

Defencemen Viktor Dombrovskiy (Prince George Spruce Kings), Carmine Buono (Powell River Kings), Dante Fabbro and Gabe Bast (Penticton Vees) take four of the seven blueline spots. It will be the second go-round for Dombrovskiy who won a bronze medal with Team Canada West last year in Yarmouth, N.S.

Forwards Kurt Keats (Powell River Kings), Marcus Vela (Langley Rivermen), Sheldon Rempal (Nanaimo Clippers), Tyson Jost and Demico Hannoun (Penticton Vees) occupy five of the 13 spots up front. Keats captained Team Canada West last year.

For the first time since 2010, there will be no BCHL goalies at the WJAC.

The WJAC runs Dec. 14-20 at the West Central Events Centre in Kindersley, Sask. and this year marks the ninth time it has been held. This is a six-team event and it will be Switzerland and the United States joining Canada East in Group A and Denmark and Russia joining Canada West in Group B. For the Canadian teams, players represent the part of the country that their Junior A club plays in, rather than their place of birth.
Canada West and the United States are the only teams to have won the WJAC. Canada West has won the event three times, the last being in 2011 in Langley, B.C. The United States has won the event five times including last year in Yarmouth, N.S.

NHL players who have played in the WJAC include Vladimir Tarasenko, Beau Bennett, Nail Yakupov, Kyle Turris, Joe Colborne, Mikhail Grigorenko, Reilly Smith, Jaden Schwartz, Justin Schultz, Hampus Lindholm, Elias Lindholm, Riley Nash, Dmitri Kulikov, Calle Jarnkrok and Slava Voinov.