Sports on CBC (Dec. 12-14)

48
cbc
(ISN) – ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final, Grand Slam of Curling – Canadian Open, Championship Alpine Skiing

 

What: Sports Weekend on CBC

When: Friday, Dec. 12-Sunday, Dec. 14

Where: CBCSports.ca and CBC-TV

Connect: @CBCSports@SportsWkndScott@SkatingPJ, #cbcsports, #cbcskate

 
It’s another busy weekend of sports coverage on CBC-TV and CBCSports.ca including the culmination of this season’s ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating circuit in Barcelona, the Grand Slam of Curling Canadian Open and championship alpine skiing presented by Mackenzie Investments.
 
FIS World Cup ski coverage kicks things off tomorrow (Friday, Dec. 12) at 10 a.m. ET on CBCSports.ca with the men’s giant slalom from Are, Sweden. CBCSports.ca will have coverage of the first and second runs on Friday with additional coverage on CBC-TV on Saturday. See below for the full broadcast schedule.
 
Saturday, CBCSports.ca will have live coverage from Barcelona as some of the top skaters in the world compete at the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final. The skaters performing at this event qualified for their berths in the final by virtue of their performances during the six-event Grand Prix circuit over the past several months, including Skate Canada International. Canada has three entries in this championship event, including: the pairs duo of Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, and the dance teams of Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, and Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier. Duhamel and Radford are expected to be near the top of the pairs competition and are a serious medal contender while Weaver and Poje should be in the hunt in the dance competition. Streaming coverage begins at 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT) on CBCSports.ca.
 
CBC’s interactive #CBCSkate community page within CBCSports.ca featuring a live blog and interactive chat where fans can connect live leading up to and throughout this season’s competitions will be busy again this weekend. Throughout the figure skating season, PJ Kwong and Kurt Browning will be featured in weekly podcasts and video previews ahead of each event at CBCSports.ca. The sixth instalment of Kwong and Browning’s video preview series is available here: http://cbc.sh/K9wxTmO. In addition, fans can submit questions for Kwong (@skatingpj) and Browning (@KurtBrowning) via twitter using #cbcskate.
 
Rounding out the weekend’s sports coverage on CBC is the Grand Slam of Curling Canadian Open from Yorkton, SK, with coverage beginning Saturday at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) on CBC-TV and CBCSports.ca with the men’s quarter-final. Scott Russell will be on-site for CBC. Curling coverage concludes on Sunday afternoon at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) with the men’s final.
 
In addition, CBCSports.ca continues its search for the most influential figure in Canadian sports as voted on by Canadians through an interactive bracket-style poll. The semifinal round is under way Gilmore Junio taking on Kaillie Humphries for the right to face Toronto Raptors G.M. Masai Ujiri in the final. Ujiri reached the final by defeating Eugenie Bouchard in the first semifinal. The eight nominees were made up of Anne Merklinger, Social Media, P.K. Subban, Marie-Philip Poulin, Bouchard, Ujiri, Junio and Humphries. Voting continues at CBCSports.ca.
 

Friday, Dec. 12

  • 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT) – Alpine Skiing: Men’s Giant Slalom Run #1 (CBCSports.ca)
  • 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) – Alpine Skiing: Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 (CBCSports.ca)
Saturday, Dec. 13
  • 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT) – ISU Grand Prix Final: Pairs Free Program (CBCSports.ca)
  • 11:25 a.m. ET (8:25 a.m. PT) – ISU Grand Prix Final: Women’s Free Program (CBCSports.ca)
  • 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) – Curling: Canadian Open Men’s Quarter-Final (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 1:25 p.m. ET (10:25 a.m. PT) – ISU Grand Prix Final: Dance Free Program (CBCSports.ca)
  • 2:45 p.m. ET (11:45 a.m. PT) – ISU Grand Prix Final: Men’s Free Program (CBCSports.ca)
  • 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) – Alpine Skiing: Men’s Giant Slalom (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 4:45 p.m. ET (1:45 p.m. PT) – ISU Grand Prix Final: Award Ceremony (CBCSports.ca)
Sunday, Dec. 14
  • 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) – Curling: Canadian Open Men’s Final (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!