Prince Albert Raiders L

(ISN) – Prince Albert, SK— The 2014-15 induction class onto the Prince Albert Raiders Wall of Hon­our will include 3 players and 2 builders when the team hosts their induction ceremony prior to their Western Hockey League home game Saturday, January 17th against the Medicine Hat Tigers.

The community owned franchise receives the names for induction from its Alumni Association for Players, and Past Presidents for Builders.

Mark Odnokon – Player (SJHL- 1979-82)
Mark Odnokon has affected the Prince Albert Raiders in many categories. He started as a stick boy in the 1975-76 season, then cracked the roster as a rugged winger from 1979-82. He then was an Assistant Coach with the team from 1990-92 and in the mid 2000’s. Odnokon also spearheads the Raider Alumni Association.

Odnokon’s playing career continued at the University of Minnesota Duluth from 1983-86 followed by one year in the International League with Salt Lake. He was the first ever coach of the Melfort Mustangs in the SJHL in 1988-89 before joining Anaheim of the NHL as a scout.

Jeff Nelson – Player (WHL – 1988-92)
Jeff Nelson was only 15 years old when he joined the team for the 1988-89 season, but still put up 87 points in his rookie campaign. Nelson was one of the most prolific scorers in Raider history, second all time with 295 points over 4 seasons, including a WHL record 56 consecutive game point streak in 90-91. He won the CHL Scholastic Player of the Year in back to back seasons – 1988-89 and 1989-90. He was a member of Team Canada at the 1992 World Junior Champion­ships in Fussen, Germany.

A 2nd round pick of Washington in the 1991 NHL Entry Draft would appear in 52 NHL games for the Capitals and Nashville. He also toiled in the minor leagues and had a brief stint in Italy before retiring from the game after the 2010-11 season when he was a member of the Evansville IceMen of the CHL.

Denis Pederson – Player (WHL – 1991-95)
Another proud Prince Albert product, Denis Pederson debuted as a 16 year-old in the 1991-92 season playing 10 games. Over the next 3 campaigns Pederson would amass 239 points along with 413 penalty minutes, stats that caught the eye of the New Jersey Devils who selected him in the 1st round, 13th overall in the 1993 NHL Entry Draft. In 1995 He was a member of Team Canada at the World Junior championships in 1995 in Red Deer, Alberta, helping Canada to gold.

Pederson would go on to a lengthy 10 year career in the NHL with New Jersey, Vancouver, Phoe­nix and Nashville, before playing 9 years overseas in Berlin, Germany before retiring from the game in 2011-12.

Milt Fisher – Builder
Scouting is the behind-the-scenes backbone of a Junior Hockey team and Milt Fisher was an ar­chitect of the Raider scouting staff from 1979-89. He not only had his fingerprints on the Centen­nial Cup titles, but also helped transition the franchise from the SJHL to the WHL in 1982, assist­ing to build a Memorial Cup Championship team three years later.

Asked by long time friend Rick Wilson to set up a scouting system for the Raiders, Milt Fisher enlisted a network across the Prairie provinces. He was successful in scouting and signing Raiders like Ken Baumgartner, Dave Manson, Colin Feser, Jeff & Todd Nelson, David Nielson, Todd Ber­gen and many others.

His success led him to a part time scouting job with the New Jersey Devils which he then made full time in 1995, continuing with the Devils to this day. Milt Fisher only scouted for two hockey teams in his illustrious career – the Raiders and Devils.

Nestor Hryciuk – Builder
Nestor Hryciuk’s first involvement with the Raiders was as a ticket outlet for the team in 1971 at Frank’s Cigar Store which he owned. He was a season ticket holder during the SJHL days then became a member when the team joined the WHL in 1982. He then became a director, moving to Vice President from 1983-85 including the Memorial Cup season. He then was President of the Raiders from 1986-88.

As President Hryciuk would chair Membership meetings involving the coaches and up to 100 members. He also organized Year End Awards Banquets. Credited for naming the “Comuniplex”, Hryciuk also was instrumental in convincing Mayor Dick Spencer to name “Terry Simpson Lane” behind the building.

The Raiders Wall of Honour is located in the Art Hauser Centre in the South East hall way by the Raider Dressing Room.