2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship.


Ellie Lambert

(ISN) – Vancouver, BC  – After a close fought weekend of action, ten men’s curling teams have secured spots for the 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship.

Clubs from across the province will be represented at the Championships as the qualifying events saw teams spread from Victoria to Kimberley triumph.

Men’s teams without a berth now have just one more chance to qualify for the championship – at an open playdown taking place at Peace Arch Curling Club (White Rock) January 9-11 2015.

In a repeat of last year’s result, the A event winner from the playdowns held at Comox Valley Curling Centre was Team Dangerfield, representing Victoria Curling Centre. The rink consists of skip Neil Dangerfield, third Denis Sutton, second Darren Boden and lead Glen Allen.

A team from Victoria Curling Club also won the B event. Team Baier, which is Skip Chris Baier, third Michael Johnson, second Corey Chester and lead Sanjay Bowry, secured their berth by defeating Team Montgomery with a single in the final end.

Team Montgomery bounced back to qualify through the C event though. The team, which is made up of skip Jason Montgomery, third Jody Epp, second Miles Craig, and lead Will Duggan, secured an 11-4 win in their final game.

The Okanagan playdowns, which were held at Vernon Curling Club, produced two winners from Kamloops.

Team DeCap came through two close games to win the A event. Skip Scott DeCap, third Ron Douglas, second Pat DeCap and lead Grant Olsen all hail from Kamloops.

Team Nelson recovered from losing to their clubmates in the A event final to claim the B event qualification spot. The team is skipped by Darren Nelson and is rounded out by third Russ Koffski, second Jared Jenkins and lead Adam Windsor.

Four rinks qualified from the lower mainland playdowns at Cloverdale Curling Club.

The winners of the A event were Team Geall who play out of Royal City Curling Club. The team consists of Skip Sean Geall, third Andrew Bilesky, second Steve Kopf and lead Mark Olson.

The B event was also won by a Royal City rink, Team McArdle. Skip Ken McArdle plays alongside third Chase Martyn, second Cody Johnston and lead Will Sutton.

The other two qualifiers from the lower mainland came through the C event. Team Schnieder from Vancouver Curling Club who secured a berth are skipped by Stephen Schnieder with Jeff Guinard at third, Shawn Eklund at second and Brent Amos at lead. They will be joined at the Championships by Team Dezura who curl out of the Golden Ears Winter Club, they are skip Greg Dezura, third Kevin Mackenzie, second Kevin Recksiedler and lead Jamie Smith.

The final qualifier of the weekend was Team Buchy who came through the Kootenay playdown at Nelson Curling Club undefeated. The rink of skip Tom Buchy, third Dave Stephenson, Dave Toffolo and lead Darren Will hail from the Kimberley Curling Club.

To see the results of Curl BC playdowns, visit www.playdowns.com and search under the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

These 10 teams will battle for the title alongside Team Pierce, who qualified as Canadian Team Ranking System points winners, and defending champions Team Cotter. The 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship takes place from February 3-8, 2015, at the Vernon Curling Club.