McDavid and Nic Petan have 3 points each to remain Undefeated

connor Mc


MONTREAL, Que. – Connor McDavid (Newmarket, Ont./Erie, OHL) had a goal and two assists and Nic Petan (Delta, B.C./Portland, WHL) added three helpers of his own, all of them on the power play, leading Canada’s National Junior Team to a 4-0 win over Germany on Saturday at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship.
Eric Comrie (Edmonton, Alta./Tri-City, WHL) stopped all 17 shots he faced in his first start of the tournament, helping Canada open the World Juniors with back-to-back shutouts for the first time since 2010.

Curtis Lazar (Vernon, B.C./Ottawa, NHL), Max Domi (Toronto, Ont./London, OHL) and Madison Bowey (Winnipeg, Man./Kelowna, WHL) had the other Canadian goals.
It took only 4:11 for Canada to get on the board first on the power play; McDavid tried to centre the puck from the side of the net, but it found its way back onto his stick, and he jammed his first goal past German goaltender Kevin Reich.
Eight minutes later, McDavid set up in his familiar spot beside the net with Canada enjoying another man advantage, finding Lazar alone in the low slot for the 2-0 goal.
Comrie was at his busiest in the second period, making 10 of his 17 stops in a scoreless 20 minutes.
Domi’s second goal in as many games made it 3-0 midway through the third period; he outworked a German defenceman behind the net and left the puck for Sam Reinhart (West Vancouver, B.C./Kootenay, WHL), who found Domi alone in front with a sensational no-look backhand pass.
Bowey rounded out the scoring with another power play goal with 4:16 to go, taking a pass from behind the net from Petan and beating Reich under the glove with a wrist shot.
Canada had a distinct advantage on special teams; it finished with three goals on four power play opportunities, while keeping Germany scoreless on six chances.
Shots on goal favoured the Canadians, 31-17.
Canada will enjoy a well-deserved off day Sunday before returning to the ice at the Bell Centre on Monday to meet the defending gold medallists from Finland; puck drop is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, live on TSN.