2015 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships get under way

Curl BC Colour Logo

(ISN) – Parksville, BC  – The 2015 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships have begun  at Parksville Curling Club on Vancouver Island.

The event sees the best eight Junior Men’s and eight Junior Women’s teams in the province go head-to-head, climaxing in the finals on January 3 which will be televised on Sportsnet.

The end-by-end results of all draws can be viewed on http://www.playdowns.com/under the British Columbia (Curl BC) tab.

Admission to the championships is free. For information about event visit the Parksville Curling Club website.

Jim Hoffman, Chair of the host committee, said: “We are very proud to be hosting this event and we’re looking forward to welcoming some of the best young curlers in BC to Parksville. It will undoubtedly be an exciting few days of curling and we hope lots of people will come and enjoy the action, which they can watch for free.”

On the Junior Women’s side, eight teams are battling for the title, including several medallists from last year’s event.

Team Daniels, from Delta Thistle Curling Club and Royal City Curling Club, is made up of three gold medallists from the 2014 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships.  Sarah Daniels (skip), Marika Van Osch (third) and Megan Daniels (lead) will be hoping to repeat last year’s success alongside their new teammate Dezaray Hawes (second).

The 2013 Canadian Junior Champions, the Brown rink from Kamloops Curling Club, are back and hoping to regain their title.The team, which is skipped by Corryn Brown with Erin Pincott at third, Samantha Fisher at second and Sydney Fraser as lead, also took silver at last year’s BC Junior Championships.

Another team competing in the Junior Women’s event is Team Jensen which is skipped by 2014 bronze medallist Shawna Jensen. Shawna will be joined by third Katherine Silversides, second Michaela Douglas, lead Rebecca Douglas and fifth Sarah McCrady.

Vancouver Island’s Team Coulombe, who represent Victoria Curling Centre and Juan de Fuca Curling Centre, are also competing at the Championships. The rink is made up of skip Mariah Coulombe, third Bailey Tinkler, second Jordan Koster and lead Sydney Brilz. 

They are joined by Team Zucchet who represent Chilliwack Curling Club. The foursome consists of skip Kirsten Zucchet, third Cailin Cooke, second Everly Royea and lead Jasmi Jani.

Also competing is Team Egan from the Coquitlam Curling Centre. The team is skipped by Briana Egan, and is rounded out by third Caitlin Campbell, second Janice Pang, lead Angelique Miller and fifth Sienna Yang.

The Vernon Curling Centre is represented at the event by Team Fisher which is made up of skip Cierra Fisher, third Sydney Hofer, second Kylie Tokairin and lead Jaelyn Cotter.

The field is rounded out by Team Connell who travelled 900km from Prince George to compete. The team consists of skip Alyssa Connell, third Bailey Eberherr, second Jordan Henson and lead Erin Ross.

On the Junior Men’s side, Team Tanaka, who represent Abbotsford Curling Club, has returned to the Championships. The team, who came joint fourth last year, are skipped by Cody Tanaka and rounded out by Kyle Habkirk (third), Travis Cameron (second) and Donny Mackintosh (lead).

There are two Men’s teams from the Island competing in Parksville. From Victoria Curling Centre there is Team Henderson, which is made up of skip Paul Henderson, third Duncan Silversides, second Benton Boychuk-Chorney, lead Jacob Zorn and fifth Tim Henderson. They are joined by fellow Islanders Team Croteau, who curls at the Victoria Curling Centre and Juan de Fuca Curling Centre. Connor Croteau skips the team with Matt MacDonald playing third, Derek Chandler at second and Scott Gray at lead.

One of the team’s competing at the Championships for the first time is Team Carpenter from Royal City Curling Club. The team is made up of skip Brayden Carpenter, third Tyler Proctor, second Matthew Chan, lead Breyden Chong and fifth Horace Mak.

They are joined by fellow debutants Team Bartlett. The team, who play at Grand Forks Curling Club and Invermere Curling Club, is made up of skip Zane Bartlett, third Sam Gaspar, second Logan Powell and lead Jordan Field.

There are two Vernon rinks competing for the Men’s title; they are Team Love and Team Schiman. Team Love consists of skip Thomas Love, third Erik Colwell, second Brendan Chapple and lead Johnathan Schwartz. Matt Schiman, who competed at the Championships last year, will return to skip Team Schiman alongside third Jesse Monette, second Ben Morin,  lead Adam Raber and fifth Brandon Makar.

The final team in the Men’s draw will be Team Loeppky of Prince Rupert Curling Club. The team is skipped by Jonathan Loeppky, the third is David Bartel, second is Matthew Dann, lead is Brock Griffin and fifth is Thomas Dann.

The winning Junior Men’s and Junior Women’s teams will travel to the 2015 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Corner Brook, Newfoundland, from January 24 – February 1, 2015.

Visit the Curl BC website to view the TV schedule for 2015 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships on Sportsnethttp://www.curlbc.ca/communications/tv-schedules/.