13 BCHL alums up for Hobey Baker Award


(ISN) – There is again a strong BCHL flavour to the annual start of the Hobey Baker Award considerations.

Given each season to the player judged to be the best in NCAA hockey, the Hobey Baker Award consideration begins each year with a ‘long list’ which fans can vote on. From that a ‘short list’ and then three finalists will be selected. The winner is announced at the NCAA Frozen Four, which will be April 9 to 11 in Boston.

The ‘long list’ released Jan. 7 includes 13 BCHL alumni representing 11 BCHL clubs. In all, 59 U.S. college players are up for the award.

The BCHLers are:

Max French, Bentley (West Kelowna Warriors alum)
Matt Garbowsky, RIT (Powell River Kings alum)
Bryce Gervais, Minnesota State (Salmon Arm/Penticton alum)
Mitch Gillam, Cornell (Chilliwack Chiefs alum)
Matt Ginn, Holy Cross (Victoria Grizzlies alum)
Andrew Gladiuk, Bentley (Nanaimo Clippers alum)
Joey Laleggia, Denver (Penticton Vees alum)
Alexander MacMillan, AIC (Merritt Centennials alum)
Tyler Morley, Alaska-Fairbanks (Surrey Eagles alum)
Mario Puskarich, Vermont (Langley Rivermen alum)
Mike Reilly, Minnesota (Penticton Vees alum)
Jamie Phillips, Michigan Tech (Powell River Kings alum)
Casey Bailey, Penn State (Alberni Valley Bulldogs alum

Fans can vote for their favourite players once per day atwww.hobeybaker.com

Last year’s Hobey Baker Award Winner was Johnny Gaudreau, now an NHLer and Calder Trophy hopeful for the Calgary Flames.

Past BCHL alums to win the Hobey Baker Award are Ryan Duncan (2007), Jason Krog (1999), Brendan Morrison (1997) and Paul Kariya (1993).