DALLAS — Former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel and Kansas State coach Bill Snyder have been selected for induction to the College Football Hall of Fame.

The National Football Foundation announced the latest Hall of Fame class of 15 players and two coaches Friday.

Heisman Trophy winner Ricky Williams of Texas and Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth were also selected.


Trev Alberts Nebraska LB 1990-93
Brian Bosworth Oklahoma LB 1984-86
Bob Breunig Arizona State LB 1972-74
Sean Brewer Millsaps DL 1989-92
Ruben Brown Pittsburgh OT 1991-94
Wes Chandler Florida WR 1974-77
Thom Gatewood Notre Dame WR 1969-71
Dick Jauron Yale RB 1970-72
Clinton Jones Michigan State RB 1964-66
Lincoln Kennedy Washington OT 1989-92
Rob Lytle Michigan RB 1974-76
Michael Payton Marshall QB 1989-92
Art Still Kentucky DE 1974-77
Zach Thomas Texas Tech LB 1992-95
Ricky Williams Texas RB 1995-98
Bill Snyder Kansas State (1989-2005, 2009-Present) 187-94-1 66.5
Jim Tressel Youngstown State (1986-2000), Ohio State 2001-10) 229-79-2 74.2

Tressel was 106-22 in 10 seasons as coach of Ohio State, including a national championship in 2002. He was forced to resign after the 2010 season after he withheld information from the school and NCAA about possible violations by some of his players, who traded memorabilia and equipment for tattoos. The NCAA imposed a five-year show cause order on Tressel that would open up a school to possible sanctions if it hired him as a coach. That order ends September 2016.

“I am forever indebted to the outstanding student-athletes and coaches that have made this moment possible,” Tressel said in a statement released through Youngstown State, where he is now the university president.

Tressel’s father, who went 155-52-6 at Baldwin-Wallace from 1958-73, was inducted in 1996

“To join the same hall of fame that my father, Dr. Lee J. Tressel, is already a member, is so, so meaningful,” Tressel said.

Tressel also coached 15 seasons at Youngstown State, winning four Division I-AA national titles. He is the only coach to win national championships at both levels of Division I. He was named president of Youngstown State on May 9, 2014.

Snyder orchestrated one of the greatest turnarounds in college football history at Kansas State, which had lost more football games than any program when he took over in 1989. He turned the Wildcats into a Big 12 power and a national title contender with seven double-digit victory seasons in a span of nine years.

He retired after the 2005 season, but returned in 2009 and has not had a losing season since. In 23 seasons with Kansas State, Snyder is 187-94-1. He was eligible for induction while still active because he turned 75 last year.

Williams won the Heisman in 1998 and left Texas as the leading career rusher in FBS with 6,279 yards. He currently ranks second behind Wisconsin’s Ron Dayne.

Bosworth was a two-time Butkus Award winner (1985 and 1986) as the nation’s best linebacker, helping the Sooners win three consecutive Big Eight titles and the 1985 national title. He was also one of the most controversial characters in college football history. He billed himself as The Boz and wore his hair in Mohawk style.

The last Hall of Fame class will be inducted Dec. 8 at the NFF’s awards dinner in New York.