Freestyle Skiers Get Set for World Championships

62
Justine1

(ISN) – Kreischberg, Austria – The biannual FIS Freestyle Ski World Championships returns this year in Kreischberg, Austria. Between January 14-25, Canada will send 21 national team and four provincial team athletes to compete in five different events for world supremacy.

The World Championships date back to 1986 when they were first held in Tignes, France.

A full CBC broadcast schedule can be found here.
CBC will also live stream the event here.

Aerials – January 14-15
The aerials competition will be a two-day event and will feature three Canadians taking part. They will be led by 2013 World Championship silver medallist, Travis Gerrits, along with Olivier Rochon and Sabrina Guérin.

Schedule
Qualifications:
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Women – 4:30 p.m. local time / 10:30 a.m. EST / 7:30 a.m. PST
Men – 6:51 p.m. local time / 12:51 p.m. EST / 9:51 a.m. PST

Finals:
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Women – 6:00 p.m. local time / 12:00 p.m. EST / 9:00 a.m. PST
Men – 6:18 p.m. local time / 12:18 p.m. EST / 9:19 PST

Athletes competing
Men – Travis Gerrits (Milton, ON), Olivier Rochon (Montreal, QC)

Women – Sabrina Guérin (Laval, QC)

All-time Canadian medal count:
Men (17) since 1986 – Gold (7), Silver (5), Bronze (5)
Women (6) since 1986 – Gold (1), Silver (1), Bronze (4)

Moguls – January 18-19
The Canadian mogul skiers will compete in two different events on back-to-back days.

Single Moguls
In 2013, Kingsbury took gold and the now retired Alex Bilodeau captured silver. Kingsbury, the current FIS points leader, is coming off two straight single moguls World Cup victories and will be joined on the hill by Philippe Marquis, Marc-Antoine Gagnon, Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh and Kerrian Chunlaud.

On the women’s side, Justine Dufour-Lapointe captured bronze in 2013 at the age of 18. She returns as the Olympic champion and current FIS points leader along with sisters Chloé and Maxime Dufour-Lapointe, and Andi Naude.

Schedule
Qualifications:
Sunday, January 18, 2015
Women – 9:20 a.m. local time / 3:20 a.m. EST / 12:20 a.m. PST
Men – 11:45 a.m. local time / 5:45 a.m. EST / 2:45 a.m. PST

Finals:
Sunday, January 18, 2015
Women – 2:00 p.m. local time / 8:00 a.m. EST / 5:00 a.m. PST
Men – 2:25 p.m. local time / 8:25 a.m. PST / 5:25 a.m. PST

Athletes Competing
Men – Mikaël Kingsbury (Deux-Montagnes, QC), Philippe Marquis (Quebec City, QC), Marc-Antoine Gagnon (Terrebonne, QC), Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh (Quebec City, QC), Kerrian Chunlaud (Ste-Foy, QC)

Women – Justine Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Chloé Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Maxime Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Andi Naude (Penticton, BC)

All-time Canadian medal count:
Men (13) since 1986 – Gold (4), Silver (6), Bronze (3)
Women (8) since 1986 – Gold (2), Silver (2), Bronze (4)

Dual Moguls
In 2013, Kingsbury and Bilodeau inverted their moguls finish for the dual moguls event. Bilodeau walked away with gold for his third consecutive world title and Kingsbury captured silver. Kingsbury is coming off a dual moguls World Cup win in Deer Valley and will be joined by teammate Philippe Marquis, who captured the Ruka dual moguls World Cup in December. Marc-Antoine Gagnon and Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh join the pair.

Chloé Dufour-Lapointe enter this competition as the defending world champion. Chloé will be joined by sisters Justine and Maxime Dufour-Lapointe. Andi Naude and veteran Audrey Robichaud round out the group.

Schedule
Qualifications:
Monday, January 19, 2015
Women – 9:35 a.m. local time / 3:35 a.m. EST / 12:35 a.m. PST
Men – 10:30 a.m. local time / 4:30 a.m. EST / 1:30 a.m. PST

Finals:
Monday, January 19, 2015
Women – 12:15 p.m. local time / 6:15 a.m. EST / 3:15 a.m. PST
Men – 12:27 p.m. local time / 6:27 a.m. EST / 3:27 a.m. PST

Athletes Competing
Men – Mikaël Kingsbury (Deux-Montagnes, QC), Philippe Marquis (Quebec City, QC), Marc-Antoine Gagnon (Terrebonne, QC), Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh (Quebec City, QC)

Women – Justine Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Chloé Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Maxime Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Audrey Robichaud (Quebec City, QC), Andi Naude (Penticton, BC)

All-time Canadian medal count:
Men (5) since 2001 – Gold (3), Silver (3), Bronze (0)
Women (6) since 2001 – Gold (4), Silver (1), Bronze (1)

Slopestyle – January 20-21
With the Winter X Games (January 21-25) crossing over this year with the World Championships, the highest ranked halfpipe and slopestyle skier will be absent this year in Kreischberg to compete against the world’s best at the X Games. This will allow several provincial athletes to step in and gain some invaluable experience in their place.

“This year’s Freestyle Skiing World Championship, which are now jointly held with snowboard, is a stepping stone for our athletes’ Olympic journey,” said David Mirota, High Performance Director. “The spectrum of a World Championship provides the closest feeling and environment to an Olympic Games for our athletes and coaches. For our upcoming Provincial and Institute level athletes benefiting from this major experience this year, banking these extra key lessons earlier in their careers will only enhance their development.”

Leading the way will be 2014 Olympian Yuki Tsubota. She will be joined by developmental athletes Reid McEachran, Taylor Wilson, Kristaps Thompson and Ontario Provincial Team athlete, Shondra Charbonneau

Schedule
Qualifications:
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Women – 9:20 a.m. local time / 3:20 a.m. EST / 12:20 a.m. PST
Men – 11:45 a.m. local time / 5:45 a.m. EST / 2:45 a.m. PST

Finals:
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Women – 2:00 p.m. local time / 8:00 a.m. EST / 5:00 a.m. PST
Men – 2:14 p.m. local time / 8:14 a.m. EST / 5:14 a.m. PST

Athletes competing
Men – Reid McEachran (Oakville, ON), Taylor Wilson (Whistler, BC), Kristaps Thompson (Montreal, QC)

Women – Yuki Tsubota (Whistler, BC), Shondra Charbonneau (Brockville, ON – Ontario Provincial Team)

All-time Canadian medal count:
Men (0) since 2011 – Gold (0), Silver (0), Bronze (0)
Women (3) since 2011 – Gold (1), Silver (2), Bronze (0)

The following slopestyle athletes have been invited to X Games:
Men – Alex Beaulieu-Marchand (Quebec City, QC), Alex Bellemare (Saint-Boniface, QC), Evan McEachran (Oakville, ON)

Women – Kaya Turksi (Montreal, QC), Kim Lamarre (Lac-Beauport, QC), Dara Howell (Huntsville, ON), Anouk Purnell-Faniel (Quebec City, QC), Nikki Blackall (Barrie, ON)

Halfpipe – January 21-22
Olympians Matt Margetts and Keltie Hansen lead a talented group of halfpipe skiers including Kris Atkinson, Cassie Sharp, and Winsport athletes Brendan Mackay, Neil Jeffries and Megan Warrener.

Schedule
Qualifications:
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Men – 5:00 p.m. local time / 11:00 a.m. EST / 8:00 a.m. PST

Thursday, January 22, 2015
Women – 11:20 a.m. local time / 8:20 a.m. EST / 5:20 a.m. PST

Finals:
Women – 6:00 p.m. local time / 12:00 p.m. EST / 9:00 a.m. PST
Men – 6:12 p.m. local time / 12:12 p.m. EST / 9:12 a.m. PST

Athletes competing
Men – Kris Atkinson (Calgary, AB), Matt Margetts (Penticton, BC), Brendan Mackay (Calgary, AB – Alberta Winsport Team), Neil Jeffries (Red Deer, AB – Alberta Winsport Team)

Women – Keltie Hansen (Edmonton, AB), Cassie Sharpe (Comox, BC), Megan Warrener (Sylvan Lake, AB – Alberta Winsport Team)

All-time Canadian medal count:
Men (3) since 2005 – Gold (1), Silver (1), Bronze (1)
Women (4) since 2005 – Gold (2), Silver (1), Bronze (1)

The following halfpipe athletes have been invited to X Games:
Men – Mike Riddle (Sherwood Park, AB), Justin Dorey (Vernon, BC), Simon d’Artois (Whistler, BC), Noah Bowman (Calgary, AB)

Women – Roz Groenewoud (Calgary, AB)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!