Vikes rowers set to host 30th annual Monster Erg in McKinnon Gym


By Ali Lee, Vikes Communications

(ISN) – VICTORIA, B.C. – On Feb. 1 the McKinnon Gymnasium floors will be filled with over 60 ergometer machines and nearly 400 competitors. This will be the 30th Annual Monster Erg event, also the Canadian Indoor Rowing Championships, and the University of Victoria Vikes rowing crews will be looking to make another strong showing at their home event.

“This is a selection event for seats in the UVic women’s boats,” explains Rick Crawley, the fearless leader of the Vikes women’s crews. “First and foremost it is an opportunity for the athletes to see where they are in their training but it is also a national championship and national team coaches will be watching the results to develop their potential lists for this coming summer.”

The Vikes women will have a strong contingency including Becca Zimmerman and Elizabeth McConnell competing in the Senior A’s, while recently named Rowing Canada Female Sculler of the Year Deborah Snell will compete in the Senior B Lightweights division. Maxine Chapman, Jillian Kegare and Kirsten McKay will headline the Vikes names in the Senior B category, while several novices will also be competing.

“Should this be the last time this event is hosted in McKinnon, it may also be the last opportunity to walk the hardwood floors where some of the greatest Canadian rowers were developed through the Vikes system and pushed towards U23 and Olympic glory by some of the great coaches in Canada,” adds Vikes men’s rowing head coach Aalbert van Schothorst. “The question for years has been ‘are YOU tough enough?’ and the machines are unforgiving in their assesments.”

The Vikes men’s crew this weekend will feature Brett Larson, Connor McGuigan, Elyas Forstbauer andSam Horn in the Senior A category, while Lee Hall will be the only Vike in the Senior A lightweights. A number of Vikes will compete in the Senior B event including Isaac Davies, Maxim Ellison, Samuel Hogman, and Mark Davies.

“We expect a number of great performances but to highlight one Lee Hall will be looking forward for a competitive event after four medals at this summer’s Commonwealth Games and a gold and bronze at the Canadian University Rowing Championships,” added van Schothorst. “Also, people should come watch the heavy men from the Victoria Olympic Training Centre perform as they are establishing personal bests on a consistent basis and it’s an exciting time in their pre-olympic year to see where they are at. That group will include former Vike Kai Langerfeld.”

Clubs and training centers from all over will file into the McKinnon gymnasium for this, literally, gut-wrenching event. Included in the list are Rowing Canada (VTC, TIC and Para), as well as Victoria City, SMUS, St. Andrews, Claremont, Maple Bay, Brentwood, Shawnigan, Nanaimo and Camosun.

The gym will be lined with 24 race ergs and 40 warm-up ergs, while there will also be a highlight 500-m dash featuring high school all-stars against Vikes varsity members.

The Monster Erg event will begin at 9:30 a.m. in McKinnon Gym with the 32 events running in 15 minute intervals. The majority of the events are 2000 meters. For a full schedule of event order pleaseclick here.

Vikes Women’s Rowing Team
Novice: Larissa McKinley, Alexandra Southam, Melissa Fiddick, Taylor Mackinnon, Ellen de Crom, Yip van Muijlawijk
Novice Lightweights: Brittany Freund, Rebecca Kingston, Kiara cannon, Lauren Ross
Senior B Lightweights: Deborah Snell, Cate White, Amanda Pomphrey, Jessica Bateman, Lauren Goforth, Emily Peacock, Sonya Huser
Senior B: Maxine Chapman, Jillian Legare, Kirsten McKay, Courtney Smith, Madeline Spangehl, Georgia van Brunshot, Hannah Jenks, Alex Bovell,
Senior A: Becca Zimmerman, Elizabeth
Coxswains crawl: Becky Wilder, Cassidy Fernandes

Vikes Men’s Rowing Team
Novice: Duncan Bryson, Scott Andreen, Dylan Daglas
Senior B Lightweights: Andrew Hendrickson, Austin Stewart
Senior A Lightweights: Lee Hall
Senior B: Christopher Marshall, Isaac Davies, Maxim Ellison, Sam Hogman, Mark Davies, Eric Laurin, Liam Boole, David Nicmans, Adam Donaldson, Niko Praun, Taylor Ellison, Noah Robinson-Dunning, Matthew Szymanowski, Will MacTavish, Jake McCallum, Andy Muth, Daan Arscott, Brandon Carnduff
Senior A: Brett Larson, Connor McGuigan, Elyas Forstbauer, Sam Horn
Coxswain Crawl: Jacob Koudys, Bailey Kulman, Alex Clancy