All-stars, award winners announced at 2015 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Championships

DSC_0066 copy 2

CORNER BROOK, N.L. — The all-stars and other award winners at the 2015 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at Memorial University’s Grenfell Campus.

(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)
First Team

Skip — Kelsey Rocque, Alberta (79 per cent)

Third — Danielle Schmiemann, Alberta (79 per cent)
Second — Brenda Holloway, Ontario (80 per cent)
Lead — Breanne Yozenko, Manitoba (81 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Chelsea Brandwood, Ontario (75 per cent)
Third — Erin Pincott, British Columbia (76 per cent)
Second —Holly Jamieson, Alberta (77 per cent)
Lead — Sydney Fraser, British Columbia (79 per cent)

First Team
Skip — Karsten Sturmay, Alberta (82 per cent)
Third — Kyle Kurz, Manitoba (82 per cent)
Second — Lucas Van Den Bosch, Manitoba (84 per cent)
Lead — Ryan Freeze, New Brunswick (86 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Braden Calvert, Manitoba (80 per cent)
Third — Jacob Horgan, Northern Ontario (82 per cent)
Second — Brett Winfield, Alberta (81 per cent)
Lead — Brendan Wilson, Manitoba (84 per cent)
* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ken Watson Sportsmanship Awards
(voted by the players)

Women – Jenn Smith, Nova Scotia
Men – Alex Cormier, Quebec

Balance Plus Fair Play Awards
(selected by the officials)
Lead — Brendan Wilson, Manitoba
Second — Alex MacNeil, New Brunswick
Third — Alex Cormier, Quebec
Skip — Karsten Sturmay, Alberta
Coach — Damien Lahiton, New Brunswick

Lead — Katie Fullerton, Prince Edward Island
Second — Julie Fortin, Quebec
Third — Karly King Simpson, Northwest Territories
Skip — Mary Fay, Nova Scotia
Coach — Rodney Guy, Northern Ontario

ASHAM National Coaching Awards
(voted by the coaches)
Women – Rodney Guy, Northern Ontario
Men – Tom Clasper, Manitoba

Joan Mead Legacy Awards
(selected by the event officials)
($500 scholarship)
Women – Chloé McCloskey, Prince Edward Island
Men – Alex Cormier, Quebec