andy hebenton


(ISN) – CAMPBELL RIVER, B.C. – Sam McMullen scored two goals including the game winner at 4:27 of overtime as the Victoria Cougars edged the Campbell River Storm 2-1 to win the Andy Hebenton Trophy for the fifth year in a row on Friday.

The goals were the 39th and 40th for McMullen.

Victoria (41-5-1-0) will finish the regular season with the best record in the VIJHL and enjoy home ice advantage throughout the playoffs.

With the Storm shorthanded, McMullen opened the scoring at 12:22 of the second period when he redirected a centering pass from Wade Johnson past Riley Welyk. Picking up the second assist was Nathan Looysen who was quarterbacking the power play from the blue line.

The one-goal deficit did not last long, however.

After Grant Payne was taken out by one of his own teammates, Dane Feeney fed the puck out front to Colin Blake who made no mistake with the open net at 14:31.

Campbell River (38-4-1-4) came close to getting the go-ahead goal in the third period but hit the post.

McMullen would make the Storm pay with his 40th goal and league leading 97th point in overtime

Gobbling up a loose puck behind the end line, McMullen walked out front only to be stopped by Welyk. The puck squirted to Brett Lervold who was also denied. And from the seat of his pants, McMullen swiped the puck past Welyk for the game winner.

Payne, who was making his 16th consecutive start in net, robbed Michael Olson from point blank range just over a minute earlier.

The Cougars went 1-for-3 with the man advantage; meanwhile, Campbell River finished 0-for-4.

Shots on goal were 24 apiece.

Next game for Victoria is Sunday, February 15 against the Westshore Wolves. Game time at the Archie Browning Sports Centre, located at 1151 Esquimalt Road, is 3:30 p.m.


1st star, Gage Colpron (Goals: 0, Assists: 0)

2nd star, Dane Feeney (Goals: 0, Assists: 1)

3rd star, Nathan Browne (Goals: 0, Assists: 0)