Seniors Curling

Ellie Lambert


(ISN) – Port Alberni, BC  – Port Alberni will be playing host to the province’s best senior curlers from February 17-21 when the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Senior Curling Championships get underway.

Eight men’s and eight women’s teams from across BC qualified through regional playdowns and will now compete for the B.C. senior curling crown. The winners will go on to represent the province at the Canadian Championships in Edmonton in March.

The field for the event is extremely strong this year and includes 1988 Olympic Champion Debbie Jones-Walker and 2006 Olympic bronze medallist Sandra Jenkins in the Women’s event, whilst the Men’s draw will feature former Men’s World Champion Gerry Richard. There are also past Canadian champions and several curlers who have competed at the Scotties and the Brier taking part, so the standard of curling promises to be high.

The co-chair of the event host committee, Michelle Twanow, said: “We are honoured to be hosting the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Senior Championships here at the Alberni Valley Curling Club. There is a strong field this year and we hope that the community will come down and support the event, admission is by donation on the door.”
The event, which is a round robin followed by playoffs, runs from Tuesday, February 17 until Saturday, February 21. The finals will take place at 2pm on Saturday. To follow the results online, visit and click on the Curl BC tab.

The winners of the Men’s and Women’s events will go on to represent BC at the Canadian Championships which take place at Thistle Curling Club in Edmonton from March 21 – 28.

Men’s teams

Team Craig – Victoria
Skip: Wes Craig (Victoria)
Third: Scott MacDonald (Victoria)
Second: Tony Anslow (Victoria)
Lead: Lindsay Cheetham(Victoria)

Team Dunkin – North Shore
Skip: Paul Dunkin (North Shore)
Third: Mickey Bishop (North Shore)
Second: Rob Gardner (North Shore)
Lead: Jurgen Wolter (North Shore)

Team Gelowitz – Kelowna
Skip: Garry Gelowitz (Kelowna)
Third: Gerry Richard (Kelowna)
Second: Terry Bauer (Kelowna)
Lead: Grant Snow (Kelowna)

Team Greig – Richmond
Skip: Sandy Greig (Richmond)
Third: Don Wakefield (Richmond)
Second: Wayne Hogaboam (Richmond)
Lead: Mike Freeman (Richmond)

Team Macdonald – Vancouver
Skip: Denis Sutton (Victoria)
Third: Richard Brower (Vancouver)
Second: Jan Bos (Vancouver)
Lead: Larry Macdonald (Peace Arch)

Team Mellof – Kelowna
Skip: Dave Mellof (Kelowna)
Third: Mark Whittle (Kelowna)
Second: Keith Andersen (Kelowna)
Lead: Cam Whittle (Winfield)

Team Nichol – Castlegar
Skip: Myron Nichol (Castlegar)
Third: Bill Van Yzerloo (Castlegar)
Second: Garry Beaudry (Castlegar)
Lead: Barry Marsh (Castlegar)

Team Thulin – Campbell River
Skip: Dean Thulin (Campbell River)
Third: Lyle Boyce (Campbell River)
Second: Donald Pennell (Campbell River)
Lead: Tom Green (Campbell River)


Team Blashko – Summerland
Skip: Lil Blashko (Summerland)
Third: Cindy Curtain (Summerland)
Second: Sylvia Lowe (Oliver / Eastlink)
Lead: Tammy Brennan (Summerland)
Fifth: Diane Tetreault

Team Freeman – Quesnel
Skip: Lori Freeman (Quesnel)
Third: Cindy Brady (Quesnel)
Second: Evelyn Lawson (Quesnel)
Lead: Penny Yamamoto (Quesnel)

Team Jenkins – Salmon Arm
Skip: Sandra Jenkins (Salmon Arm)
Third: Kate Horne (Salmon Arm)
Second: Wendy Cseke (Salmon Arm)
Lead: Carol Murray (Salmon Arm)

Team Lindsay – Nanaimo
Skip: Heather Lindsay (Nanaimo)
Third: Teri Palynchuk (Nanaimo)
Second: Darcy Dreger (Nanaimo)
Lead: Linda Torgerson (Nanaimo)

Team Noble – Qualicum
Skip: Lynne Noble (Qualicum)
Third: Donna Langlands (Qualicum)
Second: Crystal Murray (Qualicum)
Lead: Shirley Wong (Qualicum)
Fifth: Lorraine Jeffries (Qualicum)

Team Richter – Vancouver
Skip: Marilou Richter (Vancouver)
Third: Debbie Walker (Vancouver)
Second: Brenda Garvey (Kamloops Curling Club)
Lead: Pam Cuthbert (Royal City)

Team Roemer – Royal City (New Westminster)
Skip: Lynda Roemer (Royal City)
Third: Donna Maitland (Royal City)
Second: Victoria Murphy (Royal City)
Lead: Laura Murphy (Royal City)

Team Smiley – Royal City (New Westminster)
Skip: Kathy Smiley (Royal City)
Third: Kerri Miller (Chilliwack)
Second: Connie Bailey (Royal City)
Lead: Laurie Shimizu (Royal City)