Vancouver, BC – For a second straight year both Sarah Casorso and Tatiana Rafter were named Canada West All-Stars, while third-year forward Nicole Saxvik earned conference honours for the first time.

Casorso, named a Canada West First Team All-Star, led all Canada West defencemen in scoring with eight goals and 21 points. The fifth-year captain also represented Canada at the 2015 World University Games in Spain winning a silver medal. 

Rafter, who last year was named the Canada West Player of the Year, was named a Canada West Second Team All-Star. She finished third in the conference with 29 points. This season she led UBC in goals, assists, and points. 

Playing in her third season with the Thunderbirds Saxvik joined her linemate Rafter as a Canada West Second Team All-Star. She finished the season 11 goals, 10 assists, and 21 points. 

Calgary Dinos third-year forward Iya Gavrilova was named the 2014-15 Canada West women’s hockey Most Valuable Player.

The Krasnoyarsk, Russia native finished the regular season at or near the top of the conference leaders in goals (first with 21), assists (second with 23), game-winning goals (first with six) and plus-rating (first with +26).  Gavrilova led the Dinos to a fourth-place finish and quarterfinal playoff series matchup against the defending champion Saskatchewan Huskies, opening tonight at 7:00 pm MST (CanadaWest.TV).

Manitoba Bisons forward Alanna Sharman was named Rookie of the Year.  Sharman led the league in points (40) and was named to the conference First Team All-Stars, both firsts for a rookie since Calgary’s Hayley Wickenheiser (2010-11). 

Bisons coach Jon Rempel, back in Manitoba after guiding Team Canada to a silver medal finish at the 27th Winter Universiade in Granada, Spain, was named Coach of the Year.  Regina Cougars fifth-year defenceman Triston Riemer was selected as the winner of the Student-Athlete Community Service Award.

FIRST & SECOND ALL-STAR TEAMS.  Joining Gavrilova and Sharman on the First Team All-Stars are UBC’s Sarah Casorso, Saskatchewan’s Julia Flinton, and Alberta’s Lindsey Post and Jessica Kampjes. 

2013-14 Canada West MVP and UBC Thunderbirds forward Tatiana Rafter headlines the Second Team All-Stars, alongside fellow T-Bird Nicole Saxvik and Alberta’s Tess Houston in the forward positions.  Bisons goalie Rachel Dyck, defenceman Michelle Pawluk and Dinos defenceman Stephanie Zvonkovic complete the selections.

Complete list of 2014-15 Canada West Women’s Hockey Awards winners:

Most Valuable Player: Iya Gavrilova, Calgary
Rookie of the Year: Alanna Sharman, Manitoba
Coach of the Year: Jon Rempel, Manitoba
Student-Athlete Community Service Award: Triston Riemer, Regina

2014-15 Canada West First Team All-Stars (repeat-winners in bold):

Lindsey Post, Alberta

Sarah Casorso, UBC
Julia Flinton, Saskatchewan

Iya Gavrilova, Calgary
Jessica Kampjes, Alberta
Alanna Sharman, Manitoba

2014-15 Canada West Second Team All-Stars (repeat-winners in bold):

Rachel Dyck, Manitoba

Michelle Pawluk, Manitoba
Stephanie Zvonkovic, Calgary

Tatiana Rafter, UBC
Nicole Saxvik, UBC
Tess Houston, Alberta  

2014-15 Canada West All-Rookie Team:

Emma Pincott, Mount Royal

Erica Rieder, Manitoba
Shawni Rodeback, Mount Royal

Alanna Sharman, Manitoba
Lauryn Keen, Manitoba
Hannah Olenyk, Alberta