By Elizabeth Chan, Vikes Communications


(ISN) – VICTORIA, B.C. – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s teams were led by three finalists, Jon McKay, Craig Dagnall and Rachael Newman, on Day 2 of the 2015 Speedo CIS Swimming Championships. Victoria climbed up in the overall team standings as the Vikes men leapt to eighth place with 94 points, while the women improved to 10th place with 65 points.

The UBC Thunderbirds continue to lead in both the men’s and women’s side, the men with 485 points ahead of Toronto’s 421 and Calgary’s 271. The UBC women total 440 points while Montreal follows with 386 and Toronto with 280.

Second-year Vike McKay led Victoria on Friday as he raced among five UBC Thunderbirds in the 400-m freestyle to finish fourth overall. T-Bird Keegan Zanatta won the event to successfully defend his 2014 champion title (3:52.68). Calgary’s Tristan Cote touched in for silver (3:57.23) while UBC’s Jonathan Brown secured the bronze (3:57.26).

First year Ryan Howe earned a personal best time (55.57) in the morning preliminaries for the men’s 100-m backstroke. The Victoria native also teamed up with Brett Zollen, Dagnall and McKay in the men’s relay to finish 6th overall. The men’s 4×200-m free relay winners were UBC (7:29.15), followed by Toronto (7:35.18) and Calgary (7:35.58).

Fifth year Dagnall finished 7th in the men’s 200-m butterfly, while UBC’s Coleman Allen swept the event in 1:54.56 to break the 2003 record set by former Thunderbird and three-time Olympian Brian Johns (1:54.76).

Other highlights for the men on Day 2 include Toronto’s Eli Wall, who captured the gold medal in the 200-m breaststroke (2:14.34). Both first-year Thunderbird Yuri Kisil and teammate Alex Loginiv touched in for gold in the men’s 50-m freestyle in 22.68. Calgary’s Bradley Crocker was the winner of the men’s 100-m backstroke (56.83).

On the women’s team, third-year Vike Newman raced the 200-m butterfly to finish 8th overall. Montreal’s Katerine Savard was the gold medallist in the event (2:11.89) while UBC’s Jacomie Strydom touched in for silver (2:12.91) and Sophie Marois, also from Montreal, took the bronze in 2:16.07. All three podium winners were first years.

UBC’s fifth year Savannah King claimed gold in the women’s 400-m freestyle (4:14.95) A-final for the fourth time after previously winning the event in 2011, 2012 and 2013. UVic’s new addition Kaitlin Gervais was the lone rookie to compete in the women’s 400-m freestyle B-final, clocking in a time of 4:23.68 to place 9th overall.

Other Vikes posted good times in the morning prelims, including rookie Lauren McMillan in the 200-m fly, and second year Jordan Stariha in the 200-m breast.

The Vikes will be back at Saanich Commonwealth Place for the third and final day of the 2015 Speedo CIS Swimming Championships. Preliminaries will begin at 10 a.m. and finals are set for 6 p.m. PST.


Men’s 100m Back
Ryan Howe – 12th (58.07)

Women’s 400m Free
Kaitlin Gervais – 9th (4:23.68)

Men’s 400m Free
Jon McKay – 4th (3:57.93)

Women’s 200m Breast
Jordan Stariha – 10th (2:39.22)

Women’s 200m Fly
Rachael Newman – 8th (2:21.27)
Lauren McMillan – 16th (2:24.06)

Men’s 200m Fly
Craig Dagnall – 7th (2:07.49)
Jon McKay – 9th (2:03.24)

Women’s 4x200m Free Relay – 11th (8:45.13)
Men’s 4x200m Free Relay – 6th (7:42.52)