Photo credit Rick Zazulak

Feb 23, 2015

OTTAWA (CIS) – For the first time in school history, the McMaster University Marauders are ranked No. 1 going into the CIS men’s volleyball championship.

Championship website:

The seeding was announced Monday for the three-day national tournament, which runs from Thursday to Saturday at the University of Saskatchewan. All 11 matches from the eight-team competition will be webcast live on, including the Tantramar Trophy final Saturday at 7 p.m. Central Time.

Rounding out the seeding behind the OUA champs are the No. 2 Dalhousie Tigers (AUS champs), No. 3 and defending national titlist Alberta Golden Bears (Canada West champs), No. 4 Laval Rouge et Or (RSEQ champs), No. 5 Trinity Western Spartans (Canada West finalists), No. 6 Waterloo Warriors (OUA finalists), No. 7 York Lions (OUA bronze medallists) and No. 8 Saskatchewan Huskies (hosts).

Thursday’s quarter-final matchups include York vs. Dalhousie in the 1 p.m. opener, Waterloo vs. reigning champ Alberta at 3 p.m., Trinity Western vs. Laval at 6 p.m., as well as host Saskatchewan vs. McMaster at 8 p.m.

Looking for their first Tantramar Trophy title, the top-seeded Marauders are 27-1 overall against CIS opponents this season, their lone setback being a five-set loss to Western in their league opener back on Oct. 17. McMaster is the sixth different team in as many years to earn No. 1 status for the national tourney, following Alberta (2014), Brandon (2013), Trinity Western (2012), Calgary (2011) and Laval (2010).

Alberta is the most decorated program at this week’s championship with seven CIS banners. Laval (4), Saskatchewan (4) and Trinity Western (3) have also been crowned in the past.

Teams currently competing in the Canada West conference have claimed 19 of the last 20 Tantramar Trophies, the one exception over that period being a Laval triumph in 2013.

NOTES: The CIS championship has been held in Saskatoon only once in the past, back in 1980… A complete championship preview will follow on Tuesday… The CIS all-Canadians and major award winners will be announced Wednesday morning.


1. McMaster Marauders (OUA champions: 19-1 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
2. Dalhousie Tigers (AUS champions: 16-1 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
3. Alberta Golden Bears (CWUAA champions: 21-3 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
4. Laval Rouge et Or (RSEQ champions: 12-5 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
5. Trinity Western Spartans (CWUAA finalists: 20-4 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)
6. Waterloo Warriors (OUA finalists: 13-7 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
7. York Lions (OUA bronze medallists: 13-7 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
8. Saskatchewan Huskies (Hosts: 12-12 regular season / 0-0 playoffs)


Wednesday, February 25
7:30 All-Canadian Breakfast (Marquis Hall – Garry Room – U of S Campus)

Thursday, February 26
13:00 Quarter-final #1: No. 7 York vs. No. 2 Dalhousie (
15:00 Quarter-final #2: No. 6 Waterloo vs. No. 3 Alberta (
18:00 Quarter-final #3: No. 5 Trinity Western vs. No. 4 Laval (
20:00 Quarter-final #4: No 8 Saskatchewan vs. No. 1 McMaster (

Friday, February 27
13:00 Consolation #1: Loser QF #1 vs. Loser QF #2 (
15:00 Consolation #2: Loser QF #3 vs. Loser QF #4 (
18:00 Semifinal #1: Winner QF #1 vs. Winner QF #2 (
20:00 Semifinal #2: Winner QF #3 vs. Winner QF #4 (

Saturday, February 28
14:00 5th place (
16:00 Bronze medal (
19:00 Championship final (

About Canadian Interuniversity Sport

Canadian Interuniversity Sport is the national governing body of university sport in Canada. Every year, over 11,500 student-athletes and 700 coaches from 56 universities and four regional associations vie for 21 national championships in 12 different sports. CIS also provides high performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, as well as numerous world university championships. For further information, visit or follow us on: