Canada winter

 

(ISN) – PRINCE GEORGE, B.C. – The stage is set for the gold medal game in men’s hockey at the 2015 Canada Winter Games. Alberta and Ontario earned semifinal victories on Friday, and will meet Sunday at the CN Centre.

The gold medal game is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT and can be seen live on TSN5 and RDS.

Alberta topped Manitoba 3-1 in Friday’s early semifinal, while Ontario came from behind to beat Quebec 5-2 in the late game.

Sunday will mark the eighth time Alberta will play in the gold medal game, while Ontario will make its sixth appearance. Alberta and Ontario have met in the final on two previous occasions, with Ontario earning victories in 1971 in Saskatoon, Sask., and 1991 in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Overall, Alberta (1967, 1975, 1999, 2003) and Ontario (1971, 1983, 1991, 2007) have combined to win eight of the 12 gold medals awarded in men’s hockey since the first Canada Winter Games in 1967.

In Friday’s early semifinal, Kobe Mohr scored in the first period, Ethan McIndoe got the game-winner in the second and Josh Paterson added insurance in the third – all on the power play – to lead Alberta to its fifth win in as many tries. Ian Scott finished with 32 saves to pick up his fourth win of the tournament in the Alberta goal.

In the second semifinal, Gabriel Vilardi scored twice in the second period to erase a 2-0 Quebec lead, and Ben Jones, Ryan McLeod and Brett Neumann had goals in the third as Ontario scored five times unanswered to remain undefeated in five games. Michael DiPietro had 29 saves for Ontario, which outshot Quebec 33-31.

Manitoba and Quebec will meet in the bronze medal game on Saturday night at the CN Centre. The game can be seen live via webcast at www.sportscanada.tv, beginning at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT.

LEAVE A REPLY