by Chris Zuk, Manitoba Athletics

(ISN) – After a great two day of competition and six new conference records set, the team title were won by the Calgary Dinos for Top Male Team (R.E. DuWors Trophy) – first time since 2012 – and the Top Female Team (Eleanor Haslam Trophy) went to Trinity Western Spartans for the second consecutive season

The performance of the meet was named and Sarah Inglis from winner Trinity Western won on the women’s side. Inglis broke the 1500m conference championship record with a time of 4:16.84 – smashing a 34 year old record set in 1981 conference championship by Debbie Scott of Victoria in a time of 4:19.96. On the male side, Thomas Riva of Victoria smashed the men’s 1000m conference championship record set in 1996 by Daryl Fillion of Manitoba when he won in a quick time of 2:22.84. He was also part of Victoria 4x800m relay that set a new Canada West championship record with a time of 7:35.64.

In the Track Athlete of the Year awards, Rachel Francois of Victoria was named for female award winner with two first place finishes in the 600m and 1000m. For the male, Thomas Riva of Victoria set a new record in the 1000m and part of record-setting 4x800m relay team. Riva also won this award last year.

In the Field Athlete of the Year awards, Nick Oudenaarden, of Calgary was named for female after first in pentathlon and second in shot put. For the male, Peter Millman of Lethbridge won the shot put and weight throw and was last year’s Male Field Athlete of the Year award recipient as well.

University of Manitoba rookie Eric Guy earned two medals in the 60m hurdles (silver) and pentathlon (gold) and was named Male Rookie of the Year, while Claudette Allen of the TWU Spartans earned the Female Rookie of the Year award, following her silver medals in the triple jump and gold medal in the long jump on day one

Winners of the Male and Female Community Service awards were Regan Yee of the Trinity Western Spartans and Eric Guy of Manitoba. Yee tirelessly volunteers at Trinity along with senior home in the community while holding a 4.00 GPA and Guy volunteers at Children’s Hospital and raised over $2500 for cancer care fundraiser with a GPA of 3.87.

Taking Coach of the Year honours were Doug Lamont of the Calgary Dinos and Laurier Primeau of the Trinity Western Spartans.

2015 Canada West Track & Field Championships – 27/02/2015 to 28/02/2015
James Daly Field House, U of Manitoba

Final – Women’s Team Standings
1. Trinity Western – 100 points (defending champion)
2. Calgary – 61 points
3. Saskatchewan – 58 points
4. Alberta – 52 points
5. Victoria – 49 points
5. Regina – 49 points
7. Manitoba – 36 points
8. Lethbridge – 5 points

Final – Men’s Team Standings
1. Calgary – 84 points
2. Manitoba – 70 points
3. Trinity Western – 62 points
4. Victoria – 48 points
5. Saskatchewan – 39 points
6. Regina – 38 points (defending champion)
7. Alberta – 35 points
8. Lethbridge – 34 points

Top Male Team (R.E. DuWors Trophy)
Calgary Dinos

Top Female Team (Eleanor Haslam Trophy)
Trinity Western Spartans

Performance of the Meet
Male: Thomas Riva, Victoria
Female: Sarah Inglis, Trinity Western

Track Athlete of the Year
Male: Thomas Riva, Victoria
Female: Rachel Francois, Victoria

Field Athlete of the Year
Male: Peter Millman Lethbridge
Female: Nick Oudenaarden, Calgary

Rookie of the Year
Male: Eric Guy, Manitoba
Female: Claudette Allen, Trinity Western

Community Service
Male: Eric Guy, Manitoba
Female: Regan Yee, Trinity Western

Coach of the Year
Male: Doug Lamont, Calgary
Female: Laurier Primeau, Trinity Western

Individual champions are First Team Canada West All-Stars, while runners-up form the Second Team.