2015 BC Masters Curling Championships begin today


Ellie Lambert

(ISN) – Nanaimo, BC  – The 2015 BC Masters Curling Championships in Nanaimo begins today in Nanaimo, with curlers from as far afield as Cranbrook, Prince George and Comox Valley taking part.

Eight men’s and eight women’s teams will battle for gold in this 60+ competition which runs from today until March 8 at Nanaimo Curling Club. Visit http://playdowns.com/curlbc for information about the event and the results as they come in.

Both of the 2014 champions, Ralph Will and Lorraine Jeffries, will be returning to defend their titles alongside teams from across the province.

Joining Cranbrook’s Team Will in the Men’s event there are teams from Kamloops, Prince George, Esquimalt, Qualicum, Chilliwack, Langley and Vancouver.

On the women’s side, Jeffries will be representing Port Alberni against teams from Quesnel, Blind Bay, Port Alberni, the Comox Valley, Langley, New Westminster, Chilliwack and Marpole.

Marg Obee, Co-Chair of the organising committee, said: We are thrilled to be hosting the 2015 BC Masters Curling Championships in Nanaimo and we hope that all of the curlers enjoy their time here. I am certain that we will see some high-quality curling at the Championships and entry is free so that it will be an excellent event for spectators to enjoy.”

Opening ceremonies take place at 1:30pm on March 3, with the first draw beginning at 2:30pm.

The finals will be played on Sunday, March 8.


Team Burbee – Prince George Curling Club

Skip: Bud Burbee
Third: Dan Gaboury
Second: Mark Carswell
Lead: Jim Burbee
Team Danderfer – Esquimalt

Skip: Ronald Danderfer
Third: John Coombs
Second: Paul Malnarich
Lead: Barry Turner
Fifth: Stelio Tedesco

Team Feltham – Qualicum

Skip: Bruce Feltham
Third: Rob Findlay
Second: Garry Nolan
Lead: Garry Stephens
Fifth: Cliff Gussie

Team Marshall – Chilliwack

Skip: Doug Marshall
Third: Russ Knutson
Second: Vic Miller
Lead: Howard Grisack

Team Rampton – Cloverdale

Skip: Craig Rampton
Third: Alan Rampton
Second: Patrick Kyle
Lead: Tom Taylor
Fifth: Wayne Nurse

Team Saboe – Kamloops

Skip: Wayne Saboe
Fourth: Glen Archer
Second: William Gawiuk
Lead: John Cox

Team Watson – Vancouver

Skip: Ken Watson
Third: Dale Hockley
Second: John Smiley
Lead: Bill Rafter

Team Will – Cranbrook

Skip: Ralph Will
Third: Gerald Kent
Second: Laddie Pavlis
Lead: Peter Sweetman


Team Babson – Blind Bay Curling Club

Skip: Bonnie Babson
Third: Kathy Carpenter
Second: Lisa Schwartenhauer
Lead: Roxanne Nish

Team Bentley – Quesnel

Skip: Trudy Bentley
Third: Lynda Sales
Second: Gloria Ardell
Lead: Terry Bronswyk

Team Gallaway – Comox Valley
Skip: Sandra Gallaway
Third: Mary Holden
Second: Mary Ellen Werner
Lead: Elaine Starchuk

Team Jeffries – Alberni Valley

Skip: Lorraine Jeffries
Third: Zorka Smith
Second: Eilene Mitton
Lead: Trudy Beskau

Team Lepine – Langley

Skip: Karen Lepine
Third: Susan Beuk
Second: Donna Christian
Lead: Agnes Sigurdson

Team Rampton – Marpole

Skip: Laura Rampton
Third: Charlotte Edwards
Second: Lu Petterson
Lead: Pam Chow

Team Ramsbottom – Chilliwack

Skip: Ann Ramsbottom
Third: Marlene Nash
Second: Dianne Knutson
Lead: Barbara Borland-Long

Team Smiley – Royal City Curling Club

Skip: Kathy Smiley
Third: Kerri Miller
Second: Connie Bailey
Lead: Laurie Shimizu

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!