Vees Hockey Club handed out their team awards for the 2014-2015



(ISN) – PENTICTON, BC –The Penticton Vees Jr. ‘A’ Hockey Club handed out their team awards for the 2014-2015 season Saturday night after their regular season finale against Salmon Arm at the SOEC. 14 awards were handed out recognizing several players in a variety of categories.

Patrick Newell was the only multiple award winner this year, taking home the Top Scorer and Most Sportsmanlike awards. Hunter Miska was named MVP, Patrick Sexton and Cody DePourcq both were consecutive award winners dating back to last season.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Robert Skinner Courage Award: Matt Serratore (Cantex Okanagan)
Most Improved Player: Miles Gendron (Sherwood Sports)
Best Conditioned Athlete: Steen Cooper (Kirk Chamberlain & Associates)
Academic Achievement Award: Cam Amantea (Parkers Chrysler, Dodge Jeep)
Humanitarian Award: Jack Ramsey (Tom Bast Sports)
Unsung Hero: Riley Alferd (Lang Vineyards)
Most Inspirational Player: Patrick Sexton (Penticton Vees)
Fan Favourite Award: Cody DePourcq (Elliot Row 4 Her 4 Him)
Most Sportsmanlike: Patrick Newell (Grizzly Excavating)
Leading Scorer: Patrick Newell (Game Time Sports)
Vees Most Popular Player: Mitch Newsome (DMS & Ifex Canada Ltd.)
Best Defenseman Award: Gabe Bast (Penticton Alumni Hockey Club)
Rookie of the Year: Tyson Jost (BC Hockey Hall of Fame)
Playoff MVP: TBA
MVP: Hunter Miska (Making Cents Bookkeeping)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!