Heat rugby at Canadian University Sevens


Heat rugby at Canadian University Sevens

By Cary Mellon on March 4, 2015


National Championship this weekend for Heat rugby

Men’s rugby 7s – 2015 University Tournament Schedule

Friday, March 6 | Day 1 | Round Robin (Pool 2):
10:06 AM (M7) | UBC Okanagan vs.  Mount Royal | Westhills Stadium

12:40 PM (M22) | UBC Okanagan vs.  RMC | Goudy turf field
2:52 PM (M33) | UBC Okanagan vs.  UBC | Westhills Stadium

Saturday, March 7 | Day 2 | Final Rounds:
The Heat’s game times will be dependent on where they finished in their pool [full schedule PDF]

Women’s rugby 7s – 2015 University Tournament Schedule

Friday, March 6 | Day 1 | Round Robin (Pool 3A):
11:12 AM (M14) | UBC Okanagan vs.  Regina | Goudy turf field
1:46 PM (M26) | UBC Okanagan vs.  Alberta | Westhills Stadium
4:20 PM (M41) | UBC Okanagan vs.  Victoria (Blue) | Westhills Stadium

Saturday, March 7 | Day 2 | Final Rounds:
The Heat’s game times will be dependent on where they finished in their pool [full schedule PDF]

LOCATION: All games at either Westhills Stadium [MAP] or Goudy turf field [MAP] in Langford, BC
TICKETS: $10 for one day and $15 for the tournament and can be purchased at the gate on Friday and Saturday
ONLINE: 2015 University 7s Tournament Website | Twitter | Facebook 
BROADCAST: The entire event will be streamed LIVE at www.rugbycanada.tv
POSTER: Tournament Promotional Poster

Rugby 7s this weekend:

The men’s and women’s UBC Okanagan  rugby sevens teams are once again among the many University Sevens teams from across the country that are set to depart for Vancouver Island as the fifth annual National University Sevens Tournament kicks off Friday at Westhills Stadium in Langford, BC this Friday through Sunday, March 6-8. The tournament kicks off Friday at 9:00am. Round-robin games will run all day Friday and Saturday from 9am-5pm with Plate finals held Saturday afternoon and Cup and Bowl finals on Sunday.

The annual event has once again increased in size and the Heat are among 28 teams (14 men’s and 14 women’s) from across the nation entered into the competition.

UBC Okanagan has had a team at all five of the events and the Heat women seven’s squad from Kelowna have competed in all but the first one.

2014 Wrap UpDay One recap (2014) | Day Two recap (2014) | Day One recap (2013) | Day Two recap (2013) | Day One recap (2012) | Day Two recap (2012) | 2011 Wrap Up

While this year’s tournament is not officially sanctioned by the CIS, the CIS is fully supportive and endorses this event, and Rugby Canada’s high performance staff will be in attendance hoping to identify young talent with the 2016 Olympics quickly approaching.

Seven’s rugby will be an official event at the Olympics in next summer in Rio de Janeiro (2016), and this tournament is an example of Rugby Canada’s efforts to grow the sport in preparation for the games and features athletes from across the country that is a part of Rugby Canada’s Strategic Development and Talent Identification program.

Excerpt form the Rugby Canada website:

This is an exciting weekend that much of the rugby community has been looking forward to. It is one of few opportunities that rugby players across the country have to compete at a nationally competitive level.’

“This tournament showcases the growth and development of rugby across the country. We look forward to the opportunity to scout new talent every year, it really helps the growth of the game,” said General Manager of Rugby Operation and Performance, Mike Chu on the Rugby Canada Website.

This two-day tournament gives Rugby Canada’s High Performance Staff an opportunity to see first hand the rapid growth and development of the game.

“We are always looking for talented rugby players to join our national program. It’s exciting to see how much growth there has been, and we want that to continue,” added Chu from Langford, BC.

  Men’s Heat 7s Roster:

  Women’s Heat 7s Roster:

 Name Hometown   Name Hometown 
Peter Alexander West Vancouver, BC Danielle Fearns Surrey, BC
Jedidiah Anderson North Vancouver, BC Hayley Fiebelkorn Salmon Arm, BC
Samuel Carroll Merritt, BC Emma Graham Merritt, BC
Timothy Coles Calgary, AB Aniko Hawthorn Kelowna, BC
Liam Grogan Kelowna, BC Lauren Klassen Langley, BC
Daniel Haynes Southwell, UK Peng Wen Kuo Coquitlam, BC
Dominic Haynes Kelowna, BC Jordan  Pittman Calgary, AB
Andrew Kennedy North Vancouver, BC Madeleine Reeves Calgary, AB
Grady Krohman West Vancouver, BC Aliyah Rodominski Merritt, BC
Samuel Overton Windsor, ON Katherine Smith Abbotsford, BC
Antun Peko Vancouver, BC Madelaine Thomsen Windermere, BC
Colin Stonier Surrey, BC Chloe Worrall West Kelowna, BC
Steven Tostenson Kelowna, BC
Trevor Yip North Vancouver, BC

Participating Schools:
University of Victoria (2 M & 2 W)
University of British Columbia (1 M & 1 W)
UBC Okanagan (1 M & 1 W)
McMaster University (1 M & 1 W)
Humber College (1 M)
University of Alberta (1 M & 1 W)
University of Regina (1 M & 1 W)
University of Guelph (1 W)
University of Calgary (1 M & 1 W)
University of Lethbridge (1 W)
Queen’s University (1 M & 1 W)
Royal Military College (1 M)
Mount Royal University (1 M)
Waterloo University (1 M)
York University (1 W)
Brock University (1 W)
University of Saskatchewan (1 M)