Rosters confirmed for 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships B-Pool



(ISN) – The team rosters for the six countries who will compete at the 2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey B-Pool World Championships in Ostersund, Sweden, from 15-21 March have been confirmed.

Adding to 15 athletes announced by host nation Sweden in early February, a further 60 players from Great Britain, South Korea, Poland, Slovakia and newly qualified Austria have been confirmed.

The team from PyeongChang 2018 hosts South Korea remains broadly unchanged from the Sochi 2014 line-up that saw off Sweden 2-0 nearly one year ago to claim seventh place.

Defenceman Min-Su Han elevated himself to hero status in the group stages at Sochi, scoring the winning goal in a shoot-out against eventual silver medallists Russia. The formidable Seung-Hwan Jung, intimidating by his sheer speed, is also expected.

The Austrian team, who beat Finland in the play-offs to take the last available slot in Ostersund, is headlined by star forwards Kai Habeler and Martin Pachoinig. Habeler drew his team level against Finland in the deciding play-off match, followed by Pachoinig who scored the winning goal.

Slovakia will be looking to improve on their 2013 Worlds performance with the help of returning goalie Miroslav Pastucha. The Slovakians did not progress past the group stages two years ago following defeats by Germany and Estonia, but finished fifth overall after their sole tournament win over Poland.

Great Britain will field Tyler Christopher, who scored the opening goal in their 3-2 bronze medal match against Estonia in 2013.

Goalie Rob Gaze, who stopped 17 pucks in the same game, will also return.

Poland have announced 10 players who they hope can improve on their last-place finish from 2013, with the help of two new players – Sebastian Kartosz and Krzystof Sekulski.

All teams will be aware that a top two finish is crucial to their hopes of qualifying for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games, as the gold and silver medallists will be automatically promoted to the A-Pool for 2017.

The last-place team will be relegated to a new C-Pool tournament, which will be created and run in the second and fourth years of each quadrennial, in 2016 and 2018.

In 2017, the top five finishers from the World Championships A-Pool will directly qualify for PyeongChang 2018. The bottom three teams from the A-Pool event and the top three teams from the B-Pool event will compete at the Qualification Tournament for PyeongChang 2018 that same year.

Ostersund 2015 takes place just before the 2015 IPC Ice Sledge World Championships A-Pool in Buffalo, New York, USA, from 26 April – 3 May.



2015 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championships B-Pool Team Rosters


Name Position Club

Ossimitz, Michael Goal Carinthian Steelers Pachoinig, Martin Forward Carinthian Steelers Eberdorfer, Stefan Defense Carinthian Steelers Meixner, Andreas Defense Vienna Warriors Pouzar, Werner Goal Vienna Warriors Reininger, Stefan Forward Vienna Warriors Haindl, Juergen Forward Carinthian Steelers Schilcher, Thomas Defense Carinthian Steelers Krejcik, Marcus Forward Vienna Warriors Habeler, Kai Forward Vienna Warriors Head Coach: Vanek, Zdenek Assistant Coach: Sailer, Franz Team Manager: Fasching, Peter Team Assistant: Dungl, Florian Team Doctor: Schwarz, Franz-Stephan


Great Britain

Name Position Club

Woollias, Matt Forward Kingston Kestrels Clarkson, Matt Defense Kingston Kestrels Nicholson, Karl Forward Manchester Phoenix Warner, Ian Forward Kingston Kestrels Gaze, Rob Goal Peterborough Phantoms Christopher, Tyler Forward Battle Back Bisons Hackworth, Bryan Goal Sheffield Steelkings Brown, Darren Defense Peterborough Phantoms Furber, Paul Defense Cardiff Devils Le Galloudec, Jonathon Forward Peterborough Phantoms Turner, Scott Forward Cardiff Devils Head Coach: Linton, Andrew Team Manager: Neville, Simon Team Assistant: Weaver, Alexander




Name Position Club

Na, Dae Seok Forward Incheon Baro Hospital Cho, Young-Jae Defense Gangwon Provincial Office Kim, Young-Sung Defense Gangwon Provincial Office Jung, Seung-Hwan Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Jang, Dong-Shin Defense Gangwon Provincial Office Lee, Ju-Seung Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Sin, Eui-Hyun Forward Chungnam Asan Smart Cho, Byeong-Seok Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Lee, Jong-Kyung Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Yu, Man-Gyun Goal Gangwon Provincial Office Kim, Dong-Jun Goal Gangwon Provincial Office Choi, Kibum Forward Incheon Baro Hospital Jang, Jong-Ho Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Han, Min-Su Defense Gangwon Provincial Office Lee, Inyoung Forward Gangwon Provincial Office Lee, Jihoon Forward Gyeong gi Red Bulls Park, Sang-Hyeon Forward Chungnam Asan Smart Head Coach: Kim, Ik Hwan Assistant Coaches: Choi, Woo Sik; Chun, Jung Kook; Kim, Jung Ho; Kim, Tae Ho Team Assistants: Choy, Gwang Cheol; Chun, Young Duk; Lee, Du Seong Equipment Manager: Chun, Chung Kun Trainers/Athletic Trainers: Jung, Bong Geun; Kim, Yo Han



Name Position Club

Flis, Sylwester Defense IKS Atak Elblag Szarwark, Maciej Forward IKS Atak Elblag Drapala, Radoslaw Forward IKS Atak Elblag Kartosz, Sebastian Forward IKS Atak Elblag Czyz, Sylwester Defense IKS Atak Elblag Hebda, Marcin Forward IKS Atak Elblag Machowski, Michal Defense IKS Atak Elblag Ciula, Lukasz Forward IKS Atak Elblag Mlynarczyk, Andrzej Goal IKS Atak Elblag Sekulski, Krzysztof Goal IKS Atak Elblag Head Coach: Mincewicz, Wladyslaw Team Manager: Wozny, Tomasz Equipment Manager: Szarwark, Jan




Name Position Club

Hutka, Marian Goal Slovakia Raus, Ales Forward Slovakia Trska, Jakub Defense Slovakia Stit, Peter Defense SHK LAPP Zlín Ligda, Marian Forward SHK LAPP Zlín Zanovit, Marek Forward Slovakia Stasak, Miroslav Defense Slovakia Pastucha, Miroslav Goal Slovakia Joppa, Martin Forward Slovakia Fojtik, Erik Forward SHK LAPP Zlín Biath, Stanislav Forward Slovakia Kardos, Miroslav Defense Slovakia Head Coach: Drab, Miro Assistant Coach: Bielecka, Radoslav Team Manager: Cambal, Maros Equipment Manager: Grajciarik, Jan Physiotherapist/Masseur: Sos, Martin



Name Position Club

Silvstrand Olsson, Axel Filip Forward IK Drivringen Ingvarsson, Niklas Defense FIFH Malmö Nilsson, Ulf Goal FIFH Malmö Svensson, Dan Forward FIFH Malmö Kasperi, Per Forward Nacka HI Isaksson, Roberth Forward FIFH Malmö Meng, Robin Forward Linden HC Lundgren, Rasmus Defense FIFH Malmö Jonsson, Kenth Goal Nacka HI Hedberg, Christian Defense Nacka HI Dickson Gyllsten, Maximilian Defense FIFH Malmö Ojala, Peter Forward Linden HC From, Gunnar Forward Nacka HI Rakos, Niklas Forward Nacka HI Holm, Marcus Defense Nacka HI Head Coach: Lundgren, Joergen Assistant Coach: Mikael, Karlsson Team Manager: Kasperi, Allan Equipment Manager: Tedborn, Conny Physiotherapist/Masseur: Johansson, Ingvar

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!