McGill all-stars Francois Bourque, Dele Ogundokun Vincent Dufort and coach of the year David DeAveiro

McGill all-stars Francois Bourque, Dele Ogundokun Vincent Dufort and coach of the year David DeAveiro

MONTREAL – Francois Bourque, a sophomore with the McGill University Redmen who hails from Terrebonne, Que,, has been named basketball player of the year as the Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec has revealed the conference all-star teams and major award winners for the 2014-15 season.

McGill, which is seeded first in the RSEQ Final Four tournament this week and plays Concordia in a semifinal at Lennoxville, Que., on Friday, claimed three of the league’s five major awards, in voting conducted by the coaches, with Dele Ogundokun of Hamilton, Ont., earning defensive-player-of-the-year honours and bench boss David DeAveiro taking home the coach-of-the-year award for the second consecutive season.

Bourque, the seventh member of the Redmen to merit the league’s top player award, was also joined on the RSEQ first all-star squad by teammate Vincent Dufort of Smiths Falls, Ont., a three-time all-star, while Ogundokun was a second-team selection. Also recognized was McGill centre Noah Daoust of Dorval, Que., who made all-rookie honours.

The other major awards went to Laval’s Alexandre Leclerc (rookie of the year) and Concordia’s Mukiya Post (leadership & citizenship). Finally, referee Jason Stiell was named as the official of the year.

Bourque, a 6-foot-5, 192-pound power forward who was the league’s rookie of the year last season, led the conference in offensive, defensive and total rebounds per game with averages of 3.1, 5.8 and 8.9, respectively. The 22-year-old economics major was tops in the league with five “double-doubles”. He ranked 11th among league scoring leaders in points per game (10.4), was seventh in field-goal shooting (.414) and ninth in blocked shots (0.6).

He joins McGill’s Mariam Sylla, who was also voted player of the year in the women’s league. It marks the second consecutive year that McGill has swept both awards and only the sixth time in the history of the Quebec league that one school has has accomplished a sweep. Previous institutions to accomplish the feat include Concordia (twice: 2011-12, 1998-99) and Laval (twice: 2007-08,  2000-01).
Ogundokun, a 6-foot-3, 200-pound guard, is only the third McGill player to win the top defensive player award and the first since Sean Anthony in 2005-06. He led all players in steals with 2.6 per game. A 20-year-old accounting sophomore, he ranked 13th among league leaders in scoring (9.9 ppg), sixth in rebounding (6.2 rpg) and eighth in assists (2.2).

DeAveiro, in his fifth season as coach of the Redmen, guided led his troops to their third consecutive first-place finish, posting an 11-5 record. His young squad, which is composed of five freshmen, seven sophomores, two juniors and three seniors, was the top defensive team in the league this year and ranked second in the nation, allowing just 59.3 points per game. His Redmen also had the top defence against both, field-goal shooting (.338) and three-point shooting (.236). The 49-year-old native of Toronto enters the 2015 playoffs with a career coaching record of 305-200 in 505 games overall (.604). In 168 contests with McGill, his teams have posted a 95-73 record overall (.565), including an 89-52 mark (.631) against CIS opponents and a stellar 56-24 record (.700)  in regular season play.

Dufort, a 6-foot-1, 191-pound shooting guard, ranked 17th in scoring (8.3 ppg), fourth in rebounding (7.2 rpg) and third in defensive rebounding (5.5). The physical education senior who turns 23 on March 16, he posted a pair of double-doubles, was third among league leaders in assists (3.1), third in blocked shots (0.9), second in assists-to-turnover ratio (1.2) and 10th in minutes played (29.1)

Daoust, a 6-foot-8, 240-pound centre, becomes the eighth McGill player to earn all-rookie status. The 20-year-old arts freshman averaged 4.7 points and 3.0 rebounds per game. He ranked 10th among league leaders in blocked shots (0.5), produced a .333 success rate from the thee-point arc and shot .636 from the line. He also contributed 13 assists, seven steals and registered one double-double.


Position, Name, University, Field of Study, hometown

Forward, Francois Bourque, McGill, Economics, Terrebonne, Que.
Forward, Alexandre Bernard, UQAM, Physical & Health Education, Gatineau, Que.
Guard, Karl Demers-Bélanger, Laval, Actuarial Science, Québec City, Que.
Guard, Kyle Desmarais, Bishop’s, Undeclared, Montréal QC
Forward, Vincent Dufort, McGill, Physical & Health Education, Smiths Falls ON
Forward, Thibaud Dezutter, Laval, Biology, Namur, Belgium
Guard, Dele Ogundokun, McGill, Economics & Accounting, Hamilton, Ont.
Forward, Ken Beaulieu, Concordia, Arts, Longueuil, Que.
Point-guard, Davidson Joseph, UQAM, Undeclared, Montréal, Que.
Forward, Matt McLean, Bishop’s, Business, Ottawa, Ont.
Forward, Alexandre Leclerc, Laval, Sport studies, Saguenay, Que.
Point guard, Gresihe Clerjuste, UQAM, undeclared, Montréal, Que.
Guard, Ricardo Monge, Concordia, Finance, Gatineau, Que.
Centre, Noah Daoust, McGill, Arts, Dorval, Que.
Forward, Charles-André Edorh, Laval, undeclared, Montréal, Que.
Player of the Year: Francois Bourque, McGill
Rookie of the Year: Alexandre Leclerc, Laval
Defensive Player of the Year: Dele Ogundokun, McGill
Leadership & Citizenship Award: Mukiya Post, Concordia, Guard, History, Victoria B.C.
Coach of the Year: David DeAveiro, McGill
Official of the Year: Jason Stiell


Player of the Year
1968-69 Nasko Golomeev
1969-70 Pierre Brodeur
1989-90 Paul Brousseau
2001-02 Domenico Marcario
2009-10 Matthew Thornhill
2013-14 Vincent Dufort
2014-15 Francois Bourque

Most Outstanding Defensive Player
2001-02 Frederic Bernard
2005-06 Sean Anthony
2014-15 Dele Ogundokun

Rookie of the Year
2005-06 Yannick Chouinard
2009-10 Olivier Bouchard
2013-14 Dele Ogundokun

All-Rookie Team
2009-10 Nicholas Langley
2009-10 Olivier Bouchard
2010-11 Simon Bibeau
2011-12 Vincent Dufort
2012-13 Christian McCue
2013-14 Dele Ogundokun
2013-14 Francois Bourque
2014-15 Noah Daoust

Coach of the Year
1986-87 Butch Staples
1994-95 Ken Schildroth
2001-02 Nevio Marzinotto
2002-03 Nevio Marzinotto
2013-14 David DeAveiro
2014-15 David DeAveiro


Earl Zukerman
Communications Officer
Athletics & Recreation
McGill University
514-398-7012 (Tel.)