Rugby 7s National Championships – Day One


Rugby 7s National Championships – Day One

By Cary Mellon on March 6, 2015

Both the men

Both the men’s and women’s UBC Okanagan Heat rugby squads kicked off their 7s national championship runs today in Langford (Photo by Monique Beaulieu)

Men’s Rugby 7s

Friday March 6th, 2015

Westhills Stadium, Langford, B.C. and Goudy turf field

Game 1: UBC Okanagan def. Mount Royal Cougars 27-5

Game 2: UBC Okanagan def. RMC 17-5

Game 3: UBC def. UBC Okanagan 31-0

LANGFORD, B.C. – The UBC Okanagan Heat men’s rugby squad have already improved upon their results from last year’s showing at the national sevens tournament, posting a 2-1 record to find a berth at the Cup quarterfinals tomorrow morning versus the Victoria Norsemen.

The Heat were raring to go Friday morning when they took on their first opponents in Mount Royal. The Okanagan team would capitalize on a Cougars error in the end zone when Peter Alexander hit a defensive tackle that caused the Mount Royal player to knock the ball on. Alexander took the advantage and went for an 87 yard run for the first try of the day and match 2:30 in for the 5-0 edge. The rest was a breeze as Alexander completed another try alongside two tries each from Grady Krohman and Daniel Haynes en route to the win.

Next up after lunch was Royal Military College, who gave up a bigger fight than Mount Royal, yet were still unable to stop a Heat squad on a mission. Colin Stonier opened things up for the Okanagan team this time around, and Jedidiah Anderson would notch a try and the conversion not long after. A pinpoint pass wide from Krohman set up Haynes for a third try and a 17-0 lead into half. RMC would manage the only try of the second and the Heat took a 2-0 edge in the standings.

The Okanagan team would have a date with big brother in the UBC Thunderbirds to cap off the day. The talented Vancouver team tested the phenomenal defense of the Heat, but the latter could not keep up in the end as they lost 31-0 to wrap up the day 2-1.

Day two will begin for the Heat with their Cup quarterfinal match with the Victoria Norsemen at 9:44 a.m. at Westhills Stadium. You can view the schedule here: [link], or on the tournament website:

Watch it all on:

Full standings

Men’s rugby 7s – 2015 University Tournament Schedule

Saturday, March 7 | Day 2 | Cup Elimination:
9:44 AM (M47) | Cup Quarter-final* | UBC Okanagan vs.  Victoria Norseman | Westhills Stadium

*If they win Quarter-final:
11:56 AM (M59) | Cup Semi-final | UBC Okanagan vs.  Winner (M49) | Westhills Stadium

If they lose Cup Semi-final:
3:24 PM 
(M67) | 3rd/4th Playoff | UBC Okanagan vs.  Loser (M55) | Westhills Stadium

If they win Cup Semi-final:
6:00 PM 
(M78)Cup Final | UBC Okanagan vs.  Winner (M55) | Westhills Stadium

*If they lose Quarter-final:
11:56 AM (M60) | Cup Consolation | UBC Okanagan vs.  Loser (M49) | Goudy turf field

If they lose  Cup Consolation:
2:30 PM (M70) | 7th/8th Playoff | UBC Okanagan vs.  Loser (M56) | Westhills Stadium

If they win  Cup Consolation:
3:18 PM (M72) | Plate Final | UBC Okanagan vs.  Winner (M56) | Westhills Stadium

Women’s Rugby 7s

Friday March 6th, 2015

Westhills Stadium, Langford, B.C. and Goudy turf field

Game 1: U of Regina def. UBC Okanagan 32-5

Game 2: U of Alberta def. UBC Okanagan 19-0

Game 3: UVIC def. UBC Okanagan 19-0

LANGFORD, B.C. – It was a tough Friday for the Heat women’s rugby team, who went 0-3 against quality opponents but will get a chance at the Bowl Saturday afternoon.

 Photos by Monique Beaulieu

Danielle Ferns (Photo by Monique Beaulieu)

Regina was the first to test the Heat, utilizing speedy play in the wings to relentlessly attack an Okanagan defense that would be left looking for answers against a former junior Olympian. Ultimately, the Cougars would cruise 32-5 as the Heat got out their nerves and jitters. The match would mark the team’s only scoring of the day at the hands of Aniko Hawthorn two minutes in.

The Heat came out doubly intense against their next foe in Alberta, but would struggle to get to the line offensively. Some strong rucks in the second would create a slew of opportunities but in the end the drought would not end and Alberta took a 19-0 victory.

Determined to give it one more go, even in the face of a quality Vikes squad to cap off the day, the Heat defense redoubled its efforts, led by Madeleine Reeves, Hayley Fiebelkorn, and Danielle Fearns. The Vikes put in their work in the first half regardless, scoring all nineteen of their points in that frame. While the Heat shutout Victoria from any more tries in the second, once again they were not able to find the endzone and so would wrap up the match 19-0 to the Vikes and the day 0-3.

The Heat will now get a chance at the Bowl tomorrow as they prepare to take on York at 10:28 a.m. and Queen’s at 12:40 p.m. You can view the schedule here: [link], or on the tournament website:

Watch it all on:

Full standings

Women’s rugby 7s – 2015 University Tournament Schedule

Saturday, March 7 | Day 2 | Bowl Play:
10:28 AM (M51) | UBC Okanagan vs.  York | Westhills Stadium
12:40 PM (M63) | UBC Okanagan vs.  Queen’s| Westhills Stadium

  Men’s Heat 7s Roster:

  Women’s Heat 7s Roster:

 Name Hometown   Name Hometown 
Peter Alexander West Vancouver, BC Danielle Fearns Surrey, BC
Jedidiah Anderson North Vancouver, BC Hayley Fiebelkorn Salmon Arm, BC
Samuel Carroll Merritt, BC Emma Graham Merritt, BC
Timothy Coles Calgary, AB Aniko Hawthorn Kelowna, BC
Liam Grogan Kelowna, BC Lauren Klassen Langley, BC
Daniel Haynes Southwell, UK Peng Wen Kuo Coquitlam, BC
Dominic Haynes Kelowna, BC Jordan  Pittman Calgary, AB
Andrew Kennedy North Vancouver, BC Madeleine Reeves Calgary, AB
Grady Krohman West Vancouver, BC Aliyah Rodominski Merritt, BC
Samuel Overton Windsor, ON Katherine Smith Abbotsford, BC
Antun Peko Vancouver, BC Madelaine Thomsen Windermere, BC
Colin Stonier Surrey, BC Chloe Worrall West Kelowna, BC
Steven Tostenson Kelowna, BC
Trevor Yip North Vancouver, BC

Participating Schools:
University of Victoria (2 M & 2 W)
University of British Columbia (1 M & 1 W)
UBC Okanagan (1 M & 1 W)
McMaster University (1 M & 1 W)
Humber College (1 M)
University of Alberta (1 M & 1 W)
University of Regina (1 M & 1 W)
University of Guelph (1 W)
University of Calgary (1 M & 1 W)
University of Lethbridge (1 W)
Queen’s University (1 M & 1 W)
Royal Military College (1 M)
Mount Royal University (1 M)
Waterloo University (1 M)
York University (1 W)
Brock University (1 W)
University of Saskatchewan (1 M)