Former champions regain their BC Masters titles

curling men

Ellie Lambert



(ISN) – Nanaimo, BC  – The 2015 BC Masters Curling Championship titles were won by two past champions as experience proved to be the key to success.

Team Will

Ralph Will, the defending champion, once again led his team to victory as they took gold in the Men’s event. On the Women’s side it was Karen Lepine, the winning skip in 2013, who topped the podium at Nanaimo Curling Club.

Team Will, who curls out of Cranbrook, secured their second provincial crown by defeating Team Marshall 7-5. The team, of skip Ralph (lead rocks), throwing fourth Gerland Kent, third rocks Laddie Pavlis and second rocks Peter Sweetman, had a strong week building a 7-1 record in the Championship.

Chilliwack skip Doug Marshall, and his team of third Russ Knutson, second Vic Miller and lead Howard Grisack, put up a stern fight but a three-ender in the seventh by Team Will was enough to secure the title.

curling wom

Team Lepine

Team Lepine, who plays out of Langley and Cloverdale, were decisive in their 11-3 victory against Team Gallaway. The rink, which consists of skip Karen Lepine, third Susan Beuk, second Agnes Sigurdson and lead Donna Christian, won the game with a draw for two in the seventh end.

Comox Valley skip Sandra Gallaway, and her team of third Mary Holden, second Mary Ellen Werner and lead Elaine Starchuk, had beaten Lepine in the round robin stages earlier in the week but were unable to repeat the feat in the final.

The bronze medals were won by Team Watson, who plays out of Vancouver Curling Club, and Royal City’s Team Smiley.

The two gold medal winning teams will now travel to Whitehorse in Yukon to represent BC in the Canadian Masters Curling from March 29 – April 5.



Team Burbee – Prince George Curling Club

Skip: Bud Burbee
Third: Dan Gaboury
Second: Mark Carswell
Lead: Jim Burbee
Team Danderfer – Esquimalt

Skip: Ronald Danderfer
Third: John Coombs
Second: Paul Malnarich
Lead: Barry Turner
Fifth: Stelio Tedesco

Team Feltham – Qualicum

Skip: Bruce Feltham
Third: Rob Findlay
Second: Garry Nolan
Lead: Garry Stephens
Fifth: Cliff Gussie

Team Marshall – Chilliwack (silver)

Skip: Doug Marshall
Third: Russ Knutson
Second: Vic Miller
Lead: Howard Grisack

Team Rampton – Cloverdale

Skip: Craig Rampton
Third: Alan Rampton
Second: Patrick Kyle
Lead: Tom Taylor
Fifth: Wayne Nurse

Team Saboe – Kamloops

Skip: Wayne Saboe
Fourth: Glen Archer
Second: William Gawiuk
Lead: John Cox

Team Watson – Vancouver (bronze)

Skip: Ken Watson
Third: Dale Hockley
Second: John Smiley
Lead: Bill Rafter

Team Will – Cranbrook (gold)

Skip: Ralph Will (throws lead rocks)
Third: Gerald Kent
Second: Laddie Pavlis
Lead: Peter Sweetman


Team Babson – Blind Bay Curling Club

Skip: Bonnie Babson
Third: Kathy Carpenter
Second: Lisa Schwartenhauer
Lead: Roxanne Nish

Team Bentley – Quesnel

Skip: Trudy Bentley
Third: Lynda Sales
Second: Gloria Ardell
Lead: Terry Bronswyk

Team Gallaway – Comox Valley (silver)
Skip: Sandra Gallaway
Third: Mary Holden
Second: Mary Ellen Werner
Lead: Elaine Starchuk

Team Jeffries – Alberni Valley

Skip: Lorraine Jeffries
Third: Zorka Smith
Second: Eilene Mitton
Lead: Trudy Beskau

Team Lepine – Langley (gold)

Skip: Karen Lepine
Third: Susan Beuk
Second: Agnes Sigurdson
Lead: Donna Christian

Team Rampton – Marpole

Skip: Laura Rampton
Third: Charlotte Edwards
Second: Lu Petterson
Lead: Pam Chow

Team Ramsbottom – Chilliwack

Skip: Ann Ramsbottom
Third: Marlene Nash
Second: Dianne Knutson
Lead: Barbara Borland-Long

Team Smiley – Royal City Curling Club (bronze)

Skip: Kathy Smiley
Third: Kerri Miller
Second: Connie Bailey
Lead: Laurie Shimizu

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!