Kennesaw State to host 2015 College National Championships Series

USA Rugby Logo


(ISN) – BOULDER, Colo. – USA Rugby announced today that the College National Championship Series will take place May 9 at Kennesaw State University.

Following a decade of championship rugby being held in California, USA Rugby, in partnership with IMG, will take this one-of-a-kind event to the East Coast for the first time since 2002. Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University, the site for the University’s football, lacrosse and soccer games will host the Men’s D1A, D1AA, and Women’s DI and DII Finals.

“USA Rugby is excited have Kennesaw State as the site for the 2015 College National Championship Series,” said USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez. “Fifth Third Bank Stadium is an excellent venue for a Championship event, and it has already proved to be a great setting for rugby as seen at last year’s Atlanta 7s and World Cup Qualifier match between the Eagles and Uruguay.”

There is plenty of rugby to be played prior to establishing the contenders for the May 9 four-match series. The 12-team D1A Playoffs will begin April 18 as the first of three consecutive weeks of knockout rugby to determine the finalists. Currently ranked No. 1 and No. 2 respectively in the D1A Rugby Top 20, Saint Mary’s College and Life University, the D1A Finals in each of the past two seasons, are once again contenders for a National Championship..

Men’s D1AA will separate eight teams between Founder’s Field in Pittsburgh and the University of California-Davis. The two teams that manage to win two matches April 24-25 will play one another for a National Championship at Kennesaw State.

The finals for the women’s DI and DII ranks are halfway cemented after a Fall Championship crowned Penn State in the DI bracket and Notre Dame College in the DII field. Teams playing rugby in the spring begin a run for the National Championship at the Regional Playoffs April 10-12. The four regional locations will be Albuquerque, Furman University in Greenville, S.C., Pittsburgh, and Stanford.

The winning team from each region will qualify for the Women’s DI and DII Spring Championship at Founder’s Field April 24-26. The DI and DII teams to leave Pittsburgh unscathed following the Spring Championship Semifinals and Finals will take their best shot against fall champions May 9.

The 2015 National Championship Series will be webcasted on USA Rugby TV. Additional television broadcast details will be announced in the coming weeks.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!