The Wave Muscat celebrated victory on home waters in Act 2 of the Extreme Sailing series in Oman with SAP Extreme Sailing (DEN) pushing them hard in second place. Austrian team Red Bull Sailing came in third and hold the series lead despite missing most of the final day races due to a crash.

Red Bull Extreme Sailing Team performs during the Extreme Sailing Series 2015 in Muscat, Oman Photographer CreditGeoff Odell / Red Bull Content Pool

(ISN) – MUSCAT (Oman) – It was a turbulent four-day regatta and it was not just the winds that caused problems.

But the Wave Muscat braved the strong gusts and choppy seas, remnants of the previous day’s storm, to take control on the penultimate day and hang on for victory on Saturday.

“We are so proud to have won here,” said a beaming skipper Leigh McMillan. “To win a home race is always something very special, also for our fans, and it gives us a boost going into the third Act in China.”

SAP had relinquished the overall lead a day earlier but bravely battled through the day to come within two points of the eventual winners.

For Red Bull it was a bittersweet podium spot with the Austrian’s first losing skipper Roman Hagara to an elbow injury for the last two days and then missing six races on the final day after Oman Air crashed into their multi-hull.

Red Bull Sailing Team was awarded seven points for each of the six races they missed, their average per race up to that point and enough for them to defend third place.

sail 2


The third regatta of the season is on April 30-May 3 and hosted by the Olympic sailing venue of Qingdao (China).

Final standings after 29 races: 1. The Wave Muscat 239, 2. SAP Sailing 237, 3. Red Bull Sailing 216, 4. Oman Air 211, 5. Team Turx 189, 6. GAC Pindar 167, 7. Lino Sonego 157, 8. Team Russia Gazprom 152

Overall standings after 3 of 8 Acts: 1. Red Bull Sailing, 2. The Wave Muscat, 3. SAP Sailing Team

Teams und Skipper: GAC Pindar (AUS/GBR) – Steve Jarvin (AUS), Gazprom Team Russia (RUS) – Igor Lisovenko (RUS), Team Italia (ITA) – Lorenzo Bressani (ITA), Oman Air (OMA) – Stevie Morrison (GBR), Red Bull Sailing Team (AUT) – Roman Hagara (AUT), SAP Extreme Sailing Team (DEN) – Jes Gram-Hansen (DEN), Team Turx (TUR) – Edhem Dirvana (TUR), The Wave, Muscat (OMA) – Leigh McMillan (GBR), Team Aberdeen (SIN) – Nick Moloney (AUS)