BC curlers have final shot at a 2015 provincial title

Curl BC Colour Logo

Ellie Lambert


(ISN) – Kelowna, BC  – Some of BC’s best curlers will battle it out in Kelowna this week as they try to win the last remaining provincial title of the season.

Silver medallists from the BC Men’s, Women’s, Senior Men’s and Junior Men’s Championships will all be hoping to go one better and take gold when they compete at the 2015 AMJ Campbell Van Lines BC Mixed Championship.

The eight-team field for the event, which is taking place in Kelowna from March 19 – 22, includes teams from across the province.

Dean Joanisse, who was runner-up at the 2015 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Championship, will skip a team which includes two other provincial medallists. Joanisse won the A-event at the lower mainland playdowns alongside third Shannon Aleksic and second Tyler Orme, who both took bronze in this year’s provincials, and lead Kelsey Steiger.

Joanisse will be joined at the Championship by fellow BC Men’s silver medallist Paul Cseke whose team won the B-event. The rink consists of skip Cseke, third Kristen Recksiedler who was a 2015 BC Scotties bronze medallist, second Will Sutton and lead Trysta Vandale.

The strong field also includes two former champions. The Buchy rink, who has won the event on three occasions, will be hoping to regain the title that they last won in 2012. The team of skip Tom Buchy, third Lori Buchy, second Dave Toffolo and lead Robyn Toffolo all curl out of Kimberley.

Two members of the last year’s winning team, who narrowly missed out on a medal at nationals, will be returning as Team Wark. The 2015 BC Scotties silver medal winning skip, Sarah Wark and her third Miles Craig will look to defend their title alongside new teammates second Carley St Blaze and lead Cameron de Jong. The team curl out of Kerry Park Curling Club.

Two other teams in the Championship are also skipped by provincial runners-up. BC Senior Men’s silver medallist Mike Freeman will head-up a team from Chilliwack Curling Club of third Kim McLandress, second Mike Arden and lead Victoria Murphy. They will be joined by Cody Tanaka, the BC Junior Men’s runner-up, and his Tunnel Town rink of third Katie Sim, second Brian Cole and lead Chantel Kosmynka.

The final two rinks in the field will be Team Douglas and Team Groundwater who both qualified automatically. Team Douglas is skipped by Ron Douglas, with Alyssa Kyllo at third, John Slattery at second and Kim Slattery as lead and they curl out of Kamloops Curling Club. Team Groundwater, who is from Williams Lake Curling Club, consists of skip Simone Groundwater, third Ryan Bailey, second Laura Ball and lead Robert Gudbranson.

The 2015 AMJ Campbell Van Lines BC Mixed Championship will be held at Kelowna Curling Club from March 19-22. Live scores from the event will be posted online at http://playdowns.com/curlbc/event.php?id_cmp=550.

The winners of the event will go on to represent BC at the Canadian Championship which takes place later this year.