North Dakota netminder McIntyre finalist for both top hockey awards


GRAND FORKS, N.D. — North Dakota goaltender Zane McIntyre is among the finalists for the awards that go to the best goalie and best overall player in NCAA Division I men’s hockey.

McIntyre, a Boston Bruins draftee, is one of five finalists for the Mike Richter Award, which goes to the best goaltender. He is one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, which is given to the top player in college hockey.

McIntyre has compiled a 27-7-3 record and 1.97 goals-against average this season. His 27 wins tie him for the lead nationwide and his 0.932 save percentage ties a UND record. McIntyre was also named NCHC Goaltender of the Year.

The Mike Richter Award is based on play and sportsmanship, academic achievement and community involvement. In addition to his performance on the ice, McIntyre is a two-time member of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference all-academic team. He also has performed more than 40 hours of community service by helping various organizations, including the Special Olympics and youth hockey.

The other finalists for the Mike Richter award are St. Lawrence’s Kyle Hayton, Michigan State’s Jake Hildebrand, Yale’s Alex Lyon and Michigan Tech’s Jamie Phillips.

The Hobey Baker Award recognizes skill, character, scholastic achievement and sportsmanship. Other Top 10 finalists are Union’s Daniel Ciampini, Boston University’s Jack Eichel, RIT’s Matt Garbowsky, Michigan’s Zach Hyman, Michigan Tech’s Tanner Kero, Denver’s Joey LaLeggia, Minnesota’s Mike Reilly, Harvard’s Jimmy Vesey and Robert Morris’ Cody Wydo. The field eventually will be whittled to three before a winner is announced.

There have only been two goalies to win the Hobey Baker Award, with the last coming in 2001 when Michigan State’s Ryan Miller took the honor in his sophomore season. Miller is now the netminder for the Vancouver Canucks. The first goaltender to win the award was Minnesota’s Robb Stauber in 1988.

Both awards will be presented at this year’s Frozen Four in Boston April 9 and 11.

Hobey Baker Award Finalists
Mike Richter Award Finalists

This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.

Congratulations to junior G Zane McIntyre, @TheNCHC Goaltender of the Year!

— North Dakota MHockey (@UNDmhockey) March 19, 2015