Brandon Wheat Kings have captured the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy



(ISN) – Brandon, MB – The Brandon Wheat Kings have captured the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy for finishing with the best record in the overall WHL standings during the 2014-15 WHL regular season.

The Wheat Kings posted a 53-11-4-4 record for 114 points in 72 games this season, finishing first overall for the first time since the 1995-96 season. It’s the fifth time in franchise history that the Wheat Kings have won the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy.

During the 2014-15 regular season, the Wheat Kings battled with the Kelowna Rockets for the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy down to the final game, but came out on top after defeating the Moose Jaw Warriors on Saturday night. The Wheat Kings enjoyed a dominant season and posted a league-leading 340 goals. Brandon was consistent as they posted 27 of their wins at home and the remaining 26 on the road.

The Wheat Kings will now face the Edmonton Oil Kings in Round 1 of the WHL Playoffs, beginning next Thursday in Brandon.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!