Seventh annual Okanagan High School basketball All-Star Games


Seventh annual Okanagan High School basketball All-Star Games

By Cary Mellon on March 24, 2015

UBC Okanagan host Basketball All-Stars

UBC Okanagan host Basketball All-Stars

KELOWNA, BC – Friday, March 27, 2015

2015 Okanagan Basketball All-Star Games
Game Times:
Junior Girls – 3:00 p.m.
Junior Boys – 4:30 p.m.

Senior Girls – 6:00 p.m.
Senior Boys – 8:00 p.m.

KELOWNA, B.C. – The UBC Okanagan Heat men’s and women’s basketball programs are pleased to present the 2015 Okanagan High School basketball all-star games this Friday, March 27 at the Gym on UBC’s Okanagan campus.

Friday will mark the seventh straight time the hardwood that the UBC Okanagan Heat call home will honour the best players from the Okanagan Valley in both the junior and senior divisions will look to challenge themselves against their peers in a slate of four games.

Kicking things off will be the top junior girls at 3 p.m., immediately followed with the best junior boys taking the main court at 4:30 p.m. The evening will bring out the senior all-stars; the girls will tip-off at 6 p.m., and the senior boys will slam home the day’s event with an 8 p.m. tip-off.

Since 2009 the UBC Okanagan men’s and women’s basketball programs have hosted this event and approximately 20 players from each gender and age group are selected to attend and star in the event and should put the number of attendees  over the 500 mark in this, its seventh year.  Many players have been selected for the event more than one year and numerous players have graduated from the All-Star game to wear the Heat uniform, or else continue to play basketball at competitive levels all the way up to and including the NBA.

Kelly Olynyk now and NBA regular with the Boston Celtics, who played in this game in 2009 as a representative of South Kamloops, is the most notable alumni from the event. Alex Hart from Immaculata and Braxton Bunce from Kelowna Secondary both played in more than one all-star game and have moved on to the NCAA Division I.
Mitch Goodwin, Dario Gini, and Ryan Linttell all three members of the men’s Heat roster played in the game while Olivia Johnson, Haylie Gibb, Emily Kanester, Tia Sadler and Rachel Knoll all played in the event and now suit up for the women’s Heat team.

The strength of Okanagan basketball is evident not just in this event but in the finishes of the high school programs in the Valley. For the first time since 1990 the Kelowna Owls were in a AAAA boys Provincial semi-final, the last Interior team to medal at the boys top tier was Kelly Olynyk’s South Kamloops squad. Also in the boys side at the provincial championships the A final was an all Kelowna affair with Kelowna Christian topping Immaculata in the final. At the AA level Clarence Fulton and Valleyview finished fifth and seventh respectively at the provincials.  With only one berth to the championships, Mount Boucherie, a top ranked team in the province all year, lost to KSS and didn’t even get a chance at the ‘Big Dance’.

The Immaculata senior girls team played up this year and competed at the AA level, the larger schools all finished below the Mustangs as the Kelowna squad won provincial gold.  The Owls finished sixth at the AAA championships and their junior girls team third, while the junior boys from KSS ended up ninth.

With all of these teams bringin home provincial medals to the Okanagan the talent on display at this year’s all-star team will once again be first rate.

Read about the 2014 Games | Previous Years

Rosters for 2014-15:

Junior Boys

Senior Boys

Name School Name School
Cruz Andersen KCS Riley Bruschinsky Immaculata
Blaise Beauchemin Immaculata Michael Burnham George Elliot
Money Boparai Similkameen Evan Cave NorKam
Mason Bourcier KSS Paul Garcha Princess Margaret
Prabh Chahal Princess Margaret John Garvie Vernon Secondary
Gurlal Dhaliwal Osoyos Michael Gini Immaculata
Mitch Glutek Mount Boucherie Brandon Isaac Fulton
Devin Halcrow NorthKam Kache Kopec Mount Boucherie
Nate Humes Mount Boucherie Ben Kornelsen Pleasant Valley
Owen Keys KSS Matt Lafontaine KSS
Mason Laughren K.L.O Abhishek Lekhi Summerland
Ben Macdonald SouthKam Kohl Linder Princess Margaret
Mitchell Mathieson NorthKam Rashaun Roulhac KSS
Parm Sandher Rutland Amar Sandher Rutland
Simranjit Sandher Rutland Navtej Sandhu KSS
Nick Sarai SouthKam Parker Simson KSS
Grant Shephard KSS Jack Small Aberdeen Hall
Nick Smith OKM Jeff Tubbs Mount Boucherie
Jacob Stokker Pen High Treyton Waardenburg Mount Boucherie
Matt Williamson KSS Avery Walline OKM
Coaches: Landry Ndayitwayeko, Mitch Goodwin Coaches: Dino Gini, Glenn Garvie

Junior Girls

Senior Girls

Name School Name School
Abby Cullen KSS Megan Admussen-Blair Princess Margaret
Desiree Day KLO Liz Anderson South Kam
Chelsea Espenberg KSS Jordyn Cullum Vernon
Brianna Falk Vernon Brettelle Ellerton Mt. Boucherie
Marin Felt OKM Kristy Fugel Vernon
Celine Francisco Pen-Hi Nicole Hart Immaculata
Mackenzie Horst Immaculata Emma Johnson Immaculata
Kate Johnson Immaculata Jordan Koral Vernon
Ryallie Jorgensen Westsyde Selma Kusturica KSS
Jamie Lane Sa-Hali Lindsay Lalash Immaculata
Ally Lincoln South Kam Tessa Lannon-Paakspuu Pen-Hi
Darian Mahmi OKM Danya Lincoln South Kam
Jollee Perrier Pen-Hi Sadie MacDonald South Kam
Mariah Perry Rutland Lindsay Nicholas KSS
Megan Roualt Fulton Reiko Ohama Nor Kam
Kinsey Vosper Westsyde Natasha Reimer Pen-Hi
Teaghan Wallace Immaculata Anna Rice Vernon
Hannah Walline OKM Danielle Ruocco Princess Margaret
Rene Watson KSS Madison Terbasket-Winser South Okanagan
Avery Watson KSS
Coaches: Kim Whelpton, Jody Vesper Coaches: Andrew Gini, Mandy Trenholm