WHL all-star teams, award nominees bring protest from Everett writer


Nick Patterson of the Everett Herald is a level-headed professional journalist.

However, when he saw the WHL’s all-star teams and award nominees that were released on Wednesday — and there weren’t any Everett Silvertips in sight — well, Mount Patterson erupted.

He writes, in part:

“ . . . if Everett truly didn’t have a player worthy of an all-star selection or an award nomination, doesn’t that say something about the coaching? In my opinion Kevin Constantine and his staff did a phenomenal job this season.

A legitimate grade-A performance. This is an Everett team that, at least based on the opinions of NHL scouts and GMs, wasn’t very talented. Yet the Tips won the division, holding off a Portland team gushing in NHL draft picks, and we saw an across-the-board improvement in Everett players over the course of the season. If that combination doesn’t point toward great coaching, I don’t know what does.

“But was Constantine nominated for Coach of the Year? Nope. He lost out to Kelowna’s Dan Lambert, a coach who inherited a championship-caliber team, added two first-round NHL draft picks during the season via trade, and finished with six fewer points than last season.”

You know what? It’s hard to argue with any of that.

BTW, Patterson’s complete rant is right here and it’s worth reading if you’re a follower of the WHL.


Here are the WHL all-star teams and award nominees that were announced on Wednesday (x — unanimous choice):



Goal: Tristan Jarry (Delta BC), Edmonton Oil Kings.

Defence: Ivan Provorov (Yaroslavl, Russia), Brandon Wheat Kings; Travis Sanheim (Elkhorn MB), Calgary Hitmen.

Forwards: Trevor Cox (Surrey BC), Medicine Hat Tigers; Tim McGauley (Wilcox SK), Brandon; Brayden Point (Calgary), Moose Jaw Warriors.


Goal: Jordan Papirny (Edmonton), Brandon.

Defence: Rinat Valiev (Nizhnekamsk, Russia), Kootenay Ice; Colby Williams (Regina), Regina Pats.

Forwards: Cole Sanford (Vernon, BC), Medicine Hat; Sam Reinhart (Vancouver), Kootenay; Adam Tambellini (Edmonton), Calgary Hitmen.




Goal: Taran Kozun (Nipawin SK), Seattle Thunderbirds.

Defence: Shea Theodore (Aldergrove BC), Seattle; Madison Bowey (Winnipeg), Kelowna Rockets.

Forwards: x-Oliver Bjorkstrand (Herning, Denmark), Portland Winterhawks; Cole Ully (Calgary), Kamloops Blazers; Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon), Kelowna.


Goal: Eric Comrie (Edmonton), Tri-City Americans.

Defence: Joe Hicketts (Kamloops), Victoria Royals; Josh Morrissey (Calgary), Kelowna.

Forwards: Nic Petan (Delta BC), Portland; Nick Merkley (Calgary), Kelowna; Adam Helewka (Burnaby), Spokane Chiefs.



Rookie of the Year (Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy): Eastern Conference — Nolan Patrick (Winnipeg), Brandon; Western Conference — Kailer Yamamoto (Spokane), Spokane.

Goaltender of the Year (Del Wilson Trophy): Eastern Conference — Tristan Jarry (Delta BC), Edmonton Oil Kings; Western Conference — Taran Kozun (Nipawin SK), Seattle.

Defenceman of the Year (Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy): Eastern Conference — Ivan Provorov (Yaroslavl, Russia), Brandon; Western Conference — Shea Theodore (Aldergrove BC), Seattle.

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Brad Hornung Trophy): Eastern Conference — Peter Quenneville (Edmonton), Brandon; Western Conference — Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon), Kelowna.

Scholastic Player of the Year (Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy): Eastern Conference — Nick McBride (Maple Ridge BC), Prince Albert Raiders; Western Conference — Joe Gatenby (Kelowna), Kelowna.

Coach of the Year (Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy): Eastern Conference — John Paddock, Regina Pats; Western Conference — Dan Lambert, Kelowna.

Executive of the Year (Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy): Eastern Conference — Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon; Western Conference — Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna.

Regular-Season Champions (Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy) — Brandon Wheat Kings.

Top Scorer (Bob Clarke Trophy) / Plus-Minus Award: Oliver Bjorkstrand (Herning, Denmark), Portland (118 points, plus-60).

(NOTE: Nominees for the player-of-the-year, humanitarian-of-the-year, top official, and marketing/public relations Award will be announced at a later date.)