jackson cup1


jackson cup



Sir John Jackson was born in York, England in 1851 he attended Edinburgh University to study Engineering. After travelling and building primarily graving docks, canals and breakwaters throughout the world he became a Member of Parliament between 1910 and 1918. He was knighted in 1895 after the completion of the Manchester Canal. Locally, his claim to fame other than the gifting of the Jackson Cup, was the building of the Ogden Point breakwater.  A great believer in sport as a means in keeping his workers healthy, Sir John Jackson donated the Jackson Cup to the local Victoria soccer league in 1915.


The City Senior Football League was formed in 1904 with 4 teams. Navy, Garrison, Victoria Association Football Club and Victoria West Athletic Association were the first to play ‘organized soccer in the City. Through the years the name changed to Victoria and District Football League and finally to the Vancouver Island Soccer League in 1973, a reflection of those teams up island in communities such as Duncan, Nanaimo, Port Alberni, Campbell River and Powell River who wanted to participate in organized amateur men’s soccer.  In 1914 there almost 8 million people in Canada and approx 34,000 in Victoria while today the populations are 35 million and 82000 respectively.From 4 teams in 1904 the Vancouver Island Soccer League consists of 83 teams today in 9 divisions but has been as high as 104 teams. Division 1 competes for the Garrison Cup however the present Cup is not the original as Victoria West won the trophy 3 times and were allowed to keep it. The original Cup sits proudly in their clubhouse trophy case.The Jackson Cup was first played for in the 1914/15 season after the Cup was donated by Sir John Jackson, a British Engineer contracted to build the Ogden Point Breakwater. His belief was a healthy worker was a productive worker and as such encouraged his workers to participate in sport. Apart from the First and Second World War years the Cup has been competed for every year since 1914.The Cup has seen 92 winners in all with several clubs winning the trophy multiple times.
  • Victoria West               20
  • Gorge                           14
  • Vantreights                    6
  • Esquimalt FC                 6
  • LBC/Vic Athletics           5
  • Can Scot / Bays             4
  • Metropolis                     3
  • Powell River Villa           3
  • Victoria City FC              3
  • Victoria FC                      2
  • VMD                                 2
  • Victoria Kickers              2
  • U Vic                                 2
  • Nanaimo United            2
  • Cowichan FC                   2
The League has produce many players who competed at the Professional level including the 1986 World Cup (see list) and was the hotbed of Men’s Amateur Soccer in Canada during the 19870’s and 80’s. In recent times, Gorge FC’s run of 6 consecutive Jackson Cups , 4 Provincial Cup wins and participation in the Canadian Championships in the turn of the new Millennium brought the spotlight back on the VISL.