(Photo Annie Teveniuk and Lisa Miller)

Ed Sattelberger of the Iqaluit C.C. defeated Al Hackner 10-5 in Thursday afternoon’s draw at the 2015 Everest Canadian Senior Curling Championships at the Thistle C.C. in Edmonton.

(Photo Annie Teveniuk and Lisa Miller)

The Nunavut skip opened the scoring with three points in the first end only have Hackner’s Northern Ontario foursome score three right back in the second end.

Without  missing a beat, Sattelberger scored three more in the third, then scored deuces in the fifth and seventh ends for the win. Hackner dropped to 3-5 in the seeding pool while Nunavut improved to 2-6.

In other men’s seeding pool action, P.E.I.’s Rod MacDonald pounded N.W.T.’s Glen Hudy 10-2 while N.L.’s Glenn Goss scored two in the seventh end followed by a steal of two in the eighth end for a 6-4 win over the Yukon’s Walter Wallingham. N.L., P.E.I. and N.W.T. are also at 3-5 while the Yukon is 1-7.

In women’s seeding pool play, New Brunswick’s Shelly Graham took five in the eighth end to beat Nunavut’s Robin Manoll. Manoll is skipping now due to health reasons for Bev Ford. The game was tied at five when Manoll barely wrecked on a guard on a freeze attempt.  Nunavut is 0-2 while NB is 2-0 in this five team round robin. Northwest Territories’ Debbie Moss cruised by P.E.I.’s Shirley Berry 7-3 for her second win in the seeding pool while PEI is winless at 0-3.

STANDINGS – Championship Pool – WOMEN
Alberta (Loblaw) 4-1
Saskatchewan (Inglis) 4-1
Nova Scotia (Jones) 3-2
Northern Ontario (Taylor) 3-2
British Columbia (Jenkins) 3-2
Manitoba (Link) 2-3
Quebec (Roy) 1-4
Newfoundland & Labrador (Philips) 0-5

Ontario (Brown) 2-0
New Brunswick (Graham) 2-0
Northwest Territories (Moss) 2-1
Nunavut (Ford) 0-2
Prince Edward Island (Berry) 0-3

STANDINGS – Championship Pool – MEN
Alberta (Hansen) 4-1
Manitoba (Neufeld) 4-1
Quebec (Butler) 3-2
Ontario (McCrady) 3-2
New Brunswick (Tallon) 3-2
Nova Scotia (Sangster) 2-3
Saskatchewan (Despins) 1-4
British Columbia (Craig) 0-5

STANDINGS – Seeding Pool – MEN

Northern Ontario (Hackner) 3-5
Northwest Territories (Hudy) 3-5
Newfoundland & Labrador (Goss) 3-5
Prince Edward Island (MacDonald) 3-5
Nunavut (Sattelberger) 2-6
Yukon (Wallingham) 1-7

At the conclusion of the championship round on Friday, the semifinals will be held Saturday morning, March 28 at 9:30 a.m. MT, pairing 1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3. The winners then advance to their respective gold-medal finals at 2:30 p.m. while the losers meet in bronze-medal games at the same time.

The winners of the 2015 Canadian Seniors will represent Canada at the 2016 World Senior Curling Championships, at a site and date to be announced by the World Curling Federation. Last year’s Canadian champions, skipped by Alan O’Leary of Nova Scotia and Lois Fowler of Manitoba, will be competing in this year’s World Seniors, April 18-25 at Sochi, Russia. Since the World Seniors began in 2002, Canada has won nine men’s and nine women’s titles.

Draw results for the 2015 Canadian Seniors will be instantly available at www.curling.ca. For event information, visit Curling Canada’s Scoreboard HERE.

Everest_Seniors2015_noURL_This is the first year of a three-year agreement by Everest, the first nationwide funeral planning and concierge service, to be the title sponsor of the Canadian Seniors.