CBS Sports Network’s 2015 schedule of AFL games



(ISN) – CHICAGO – The Arena Football League today announced the on-air team for CBS Sports Network’s 2015 schedule of AFL games. Brent Stover and Ari Wolfe will handle play-by-play while Anthony Herron and Sherdrick Bonner serve as booth analysts and Randy Gatewood and Steve Papin will be on-field analysts.

Stover made his “Arena Football on CBS Sports Network” debut during the 2014 season, last calling the American Conference Championship Game on the network. He joined CBS Sports Network in 2010 as a studio host and play-by-play announcer, covering primarily college football and college basketball. Prior to CBS Sports Network, Stover served as studio host and play-by-play voice for the Big Ten Network and Fox Sports Net. He also spent extensive time as the pre- and post-game show host of the St. Louis Cardinals and Pittsburgh Pirates, in addition to calling Chicago Rush games for Fox Sports Net in 2005 and 2006. Stover received a degree in journalism from Kansas State University, where he ran track and cross country.

Wolfe has worked in some capacity at every ArenaBowl since 2002 and been a mainstay on the AFL’s weekly national telecasts since 2010. He serves as both a news anchor for NFL Network Now updates and a reporter during weekly coverage of the National Football League. Wolfe called Albany/Indiana Firebirds games from 1998-2003 and also served as a play-by-play announcer for the Philadelphia Soul from 2004-2008 along with being the NFL preseason voice of the Minnesota Vikings from 2007-2011. During the 2008 season, Wolfe had his own column on entitled “Wolfe’s Den” and has also called Olympic Table Tennis for NBC Sports.

Herron will again serve as an analyst both in the booth and on the sideline for “Arena Football on CBS Sports Network.” He starred at the University of Iowa as a defensive lineman and played five seasons in the NFL before playing and coaching over the course of five years in the AFL. He was the Assistant Head Coach and Defensive Coordinator of the Tennessee Valley Vipers of af2 when they won the ArenaCup championship in 2008. Shortly after, Herron began more extensive work as a broadcaster. He became one of the lead game and studio analysts for the Big Ten Network and then joined NFL Network in 2010 as a football analyst for “Arena Football Friday.” Herron has been on every ArenaBowl broadcast since that season and also serves as a college football analyst for NBC Sports and Pac-12 Networks.

Bonner was named the Greatest Quarterback in AFL History by the Silver Anniversary Committee in 2012 and has played a leading role on national AFL telecasts over the past four seasons. In addition, he has served as the sideline analyst for the last three ArenaBowl telecasts. During the college football season, Bonner works as the lead Mountain West Football analyst for Root Sports. In his 15 seasons in the AFL, Bonner was a four-time All-Arena selection. He won two ArenaBowl championships as a player and was named MVP of ArenaBowl VII. Bonner was inducted into the Arena Football Hall of Fame in April 2013.

Gatewood was a six-time All-Arena selection as a wide receiver and defensive back for the Arizona Rattlers from 1996-2007. He was also a three-time All-Ironman Team selection and two-time Ironman of the Year during his time in the League. Inducted into the Arena Football Hall of Fame in 2012, Gatewood began his career as an AFL analyst on CBS Sports Network and ESPN in 2014.

Papin was a two-time All-Arena selection and Don’t Blink Player of the Year winner as an offensive specialist with the San Jose SaberCats. One of the most dynamic players in the history of the AFL and a recent finalist for induction into the Arena Football Hall of Fame, Papin served as an assistant coach with the SaberCats and provided analysis on the team’s radio broadcasts before making his debut as an on-field analysts for AFL games on CBS Sports Network and ESPN last season.