Falcons, Knights crowned national champions


Falcons, Knights crowned national champions

Three days of action between the top male and female curling teams in Canada culminated on championship Saturday at Olds Curling Club in Olds, AB.

Women’s Draw:

The Fanshawe Falcons advanced to the gold medal game after topping the NAIT Ooks 6-3 in the afternoon semi final. Fanshawe carried a 5-2 record through round robin, but Humber held the edge in the tie-breaker.

NAIT would have to settle for bronze.

The Humber Hawks women’s team finished the round robin on top with a record of 5-2, heading to the gold medal game for the second straight season.

Once again, the Hawks would have to settle for silver.

Tied 2-2 after seven ends, Fanshawe took the lead scoring one in the eighth end. Coming down to the last rock of the final end, the Hawks were forced into a difficult shot to tie – coming up just short.

The Falcons stole one, winning 4-2, capping an exceptional three CCAA women’s curling titles in four years.

Men’s Draw:

The men’s side playoff of the 2015 CCAA Curling Championships was a wild one.

Coming out of round robin, both tie-breakers were necessary just to determine matchups for the semi final.

In the first tie-breaker, host Olds Broncos defeated Sault Cougars 6-3.

The second tie-breaker saw Fanshawe Falcons move on, edging Olds 5-4.

Fanshawe defeated defending CCAA champions MacEwan Griffins 11-8 to move on to the gold medal game.

The Griffins bronze medal was their third straight CCAA medal. (2014 gold, 2013 silver)

Fleming Knights earned a bye to the finals after posting a record of 5-2.

Tied through seven ends, Fleming Knights blew the game open scoring two in the eighth end and two more in the ninth, going on to win the 2015 CCAA Men’s Curling Championship 8-4.


Women’s Fair Play: Avery Thomas – Mohawk Mountaineers
Men’s Fair Play: Colton Goller – Olds Broncos

Men’s All Stars:
1st – Ben Bissel – MacEwan Griffins
2nd – Kyle Sherlock – Sault Cougars
3rd – Dustyn Wozny – Olds Broncos
Skip – Jason Whitehill – Fleming Knights

Women’s All Stars:
1st – Katie Roskewich – NAIT Ooks
2nd – Christina Borgs – Fanshawe Falcons
3rd – Rachelle Vink – Fanshawe Falcons
Skip – Shannon Kee – Fanshawe Falcons

Women’s Coach: Barry Westman – Fanshawe Falcons
Men’s Coach: Steve Whitehill – Fleming Knights

Congratulations to all teams, athletes and coaches on a fantastic display of performance and sportsmanship!