72 BCHL alums in NCAA hockey tourney

ncaa hockey


(ISN) – The quest to the Frozen Four begins today and 16 teams – featuring 72 BCHL alumni – will hit the ice at locations all over the NCAA map.Of the 16 teams in the tournament, 15 of them have at least one BCHL graduate.

Michigan Tech has the most with 12. The University of Miami-Ohio is lone school without a league alum. All 16 BCHL teams are represented with alumni in the NCAA tournament.The No. 1 overall seed in the tournament, Minnesota State, has eight BCHL alums. They will face the Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) and their nine BCHL alums on Saturday.NCAA Tournament BracketProspects wise, 28 NHL teams have at least one draft pick in the tournament and 107 drafted players are include on the 16 rosters. Of those, nine are BCHL grads.The complete list of BCHL players in the NCAA tournament is as follows (Notes if drafted in brackets):Minnesota State 
Nick Buchanan
Bryce Gervais
Sean Flanagan
Brad McClure
Jaden Schmeisser
Brett Knowles
Jon Jutzi
Cole Huggins

Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT)
Brad McGowan
Matt Garbowsky
Brad Reid
Myles Powell
Garrett McMullen
Dan Schuler
Josh Mitchell
Alex Perron-Fontaine
Brandon Thompson

University of Nebraska-Omaha
Brock Crosswaite
Brian Rideout
James Polk
Kyle Mountain
David Pope – (Detroit, 2013)
Luke Nogard
Kirk Thompson

Kevin Guiltinan
Luke Esposito
Brayden Jaw
Alexander Kerfoot – (New Jersey, 2012)
Seb Lloyd


Providence College
Brandon Tanev
Josh Monk

Denver University
Danton Heinen – (Boston, 2014)
Joey LaLeggia – (Edmonton, 2012)
Adam Plant

Boston College 
Destry Straight

Boston University
Connor LaCouvee

Dan O’Keefe
Charles Orzetti
Patrick Spano

Derik Johnson

Mike Reilly – (Columbus, 2011)
Ryan Reilly
Connor Reilly

North Dakota
Troy Stretcher
Wade Murphy – (Nashville, 2013)
Mark MacMillan – (Montreal, 2010)
Brendan O’Donnell – (Tampa Bay, 2010)

Brayden Sherbinin
Devon Toews
Canon Pieper
Bo Pieper
Jonah Renouf
Nathan Renouf
Landon Smith
Travis St. Davis
Michal Garteig

Michigan Tech
Dane Birks – (Pittsburgh, 2013)
Reid Sturos
Alex Gillies
Malcolm Gould
Mason Blacklock
Riley Sweeney
Shana Hanna
Alex Petan
Evan Anderson
Brent Baltus
Walker Hyland
Devin Kero

St. Cloud State
Joey Benik
David Morley
Garrett Milan
Tim Daly

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!