Hong Kong’s Rowan Varty is appearing in his 10th Hong Kong Sevens – Photo: World Rugby/Martin Seras Lima

(ISN) –  HSBC Sevens World Series leaders South Africa and defending Hong Kong Sevens champions New Zealand recorded first round wins at the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, round six of the Series.

Cecil Afrika, Seabelo Senatla, Kwagga Smith and Werner Kok scored tries for the Blitzboks, who have never won the Hong Kong title, as they beat Argentina 24-0, while former Sevens Players of the Year DJ Forbes and Tim Mikkelson scored for Sir Gordon Tietjens’ side in a 26-7 win over Scotland.

Fiji and Australia also impressed in their first match, beating Samoa and Portugal respectively, ensuring the top four teams in the overall standings got off to a solid start at the 40th anniversary edition of the Hong Kong Sevens. The action continues on day two with all teams vying for all-important series points as the road to Rio continues.

28 nations took to the field in front of 38,642 fans on day one of the three-day record event as 12 teams joined the main Series competition in the World Series qualifier.

“It’s been a tremendous opening day and the action has lived up to the billing at this historic 40th Hong Kong Sevens,” said World Rugby CEO, Brett Gosper. “All of the 28 competing teams have impressed and the fans have been treated to some exceptional sevens, and it is only going to get better from here.”

Uruguay, Russia, Papua New Guinea, Zimbabwe and Spain all remained undefeated in the World Series qualifier, while hosts Hong Kong lost to Brazil and beat Mexico on day one.

The qualifier will continue on day two with one of the 12 teams set to take their place as one of the 15 core sides on the 2015/16 Series.

The Hong Kong event is set to break its own previous broadcast record this weekend too with the 40th Hong Kong Sevens showing a staggering 347 hours live and delayed around the globe.